Winners and runners of VTU Inter-Collegiate Mysuru Division Basketball Championship

Winners and runners of VTU Inter-Collegiate Mysuru Division Basketball Championship

December 7, 2023

National Institute of Engineering (NIE), Mysuru, beat Coorg Institute of Technology (CIT), Ponnampet, in the finals of the VTU Inter-Collegiate Mysuru Zone Basketball Men Championship 2023-24 and took home winner’s trophy.

The Championship was organised by the Department of Physical Education and Sports Sciences, NIE, Mysuru, at NIE Diamond Jubilee Indoor Sports Complex in November.

In the semi-finals, NIE, Mysuru beat Vidyavardhaka College of Engineering (VVCE), Mysuru 40-17 and CIT, Ponnampet beat Maharaja Institute of Technology (MIT), Mysuru, 26-23 to reach finals.

Earlier, the Championship was inaugurated by Dr. M.R. Savitha Prashanth, Ekalavya Awardee & Indian Basketball Player and Dr. S. Parameshwara, Head, Department of Electronics and Communication, NIE.

Dr. Savitha Prashanth stressed the need for fair play and Dr. Parameshwara impressed upon participants to indulge more in sports to keep fit and release stress of Engineering academics.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]