Winners at ‘cogNIEscience 2019’

Winners at ‘cogNIEscience 2019’

April 18, 2019

Mysuru: Sundaresh Shankaran,  Vice-President, Engineer Services, Infosys, Mysuru, inaugurated ‘CogNIEscience  2019,’ a National-level Technical Paper Presentation Competition organised by the Department of Mechanical Engineering, The National Institute of Engineering (NIE), Mysuru, recently.

Speaking on the occasion, Sundaresh conveyed the importance of research in cultivating networking skills by attending conferences and thereby attaining the skills to link several streams of Mechanical Engineering to make an assembly work. He stressed the relevance of research in applying the knowledge obtained in college to bring it out in the form of design and development. On the occasion, Sundaresh released the CD of cogNIEscience-2019.

Dr. M.V. Achutha, Professor & Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering, NIE, and Coordinators of the event — K. Chandra Sekhar and Dr. H.M. Sathisha were present.

cogNIEscience 2019 attracted about 80  technical papers from engineering students all over  Karnataka as well as from neighbouring States. Among these, 53 papers were shortlisted for presentation  in five distinct streams — Automotive Engineering, Design Engineering, Thermal Engineering, Production and Manufacturing Engineering, and Post Graduate stream.

In order to develop research interest in young minds, a special category for first year students with a theme ‘Innovative Engineering Techniques for Industry 4.0’ was also introduced. The presentations were evaluated by a panel of jury members drawn from industry and academia.

The event was sponsored by TEQIP (Government of India project) and Gopika Agarbathis.

In the valedictory, G.S. Ramachandra, Hon. Secretary, NIE, distributed cash awards to the winners. K. Bharath and Rohith of NIE won the best paper award. Other prize winners are:

Thermal Engineering Stream: I prize: Viswanath Balasubrahmanian and Sagar Mishra, RVCE, Bengaluru; II prize: B.J. Venkatesh & M. Manojkumar, Mysore College of Engineering and Management, Mysuru.

Design Engineering Stream: I prize: G. Hemanth and Apurva Rakesh, NIE; II prize: M.S. Chethan Reddy and Ishan S. Jassi, RVCE, Bengaluru.

Manufacturing Engineering Stream: I prize: Vani Soudagar & D.A. Krithika,  RVCE; II prize: Lalitha Shree & N. Aswini, Dayananda Sagar College of Engineering.

Automobile Engineering Stream: I prize: H.M. Manoj & K. Reuben Joseph, NIE; II prize: B.Y. Brijesh Nanda & Elroy Joseph D’Souza, NIE.

Post Graduate Stream: I prize: P.M. Poornachandra Tejasvi, NIE; II prize: Adithya Lokesh Hegde, B.M.S. College of Engineering, Bengaluru.

First Year UG Stream: I prize: Parth Dharsandia and Chinmay Karani, NIE; II prize: Varun Kalgaonkar and Subham Roniyar, NIE. Best Technical Paper in Overall Streams: B.Y. Brijesh Nanda & Elroy Joseph D’Souza, NIE.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]