Winners of Karnataka State Open  Chess Championship for the Blind

Winners of Karnataka State Open Chess Championship for the Blind

January 13, 2020

A.R. Ramesh of Arasikere with 5.5 points from six rounds clinched the title on the concluding day of the Karnataka Open State-level Chess Championship for the Blind 2020, conducted by Louie Braille Charitable Trust at Sri Sachchidananda Ashrama premises on Ooty Road in city as part of 211th birth anniversary of Louie Braille.

Four players — Ravi Kiran (5-27), K.S. Nagaraja (5-24), Kiran Kumar A. Simpi (5-23) and Manoj Hadapad (5-21.5) — tied with 5 points each from six rounds and secured the places from second to fifth in the final ranking.

Final Placings — 1. A.R. Ramesh (5.5), 2. Ravi Kiran (5-27), 3. K.S. Nagaraja (5-24), 4. Kiran Kumar A. Simpi (5-23), 5. Manoj Hadapad (5-21.5), 6. Lingaraju (4.5-24), 7. Shivanad Kambley (4.5-20), 8. N.M. Shivana Gowda (4-22.5), 9. D. Praveen (4-21), 10. Yallappa Uppar (4-21).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]