25 Ministers Sworn-in: 15 from Congress, 10 from JD(S)

25 Ministers Sworn-in: 15 from Congress, 10 from JD(S)

June 6, 2018

JD(S) Ministers: H.D. Revanna, G.T. Devegowda, Bandeppa Kashampur, C.S. Puttaraju, D.C. Thammanna, Venkatrao Nadagowda, S.R. Srinivas, M.C. Managuli and Sa.Ra. Mahesh. N. Mahesh of the BSP, the alliance partner of JD(S) was also inducted into the Ministry.

Congress Ministers: D.K. Shivakumar, R.V. Deshpande, K.J. George, Krishna Bhyregowda, Rajashekar Basavaraj Patil, Shivananda Patil, Priyank Kharge, U.T. Khader, Zameer Ahmed Khan, C. Puttaranga Shetty, N.H. Shivashankar Reddy, Ramesh Jarakiholi, Venkataramanappa, Jayamala and R. Shankar (Independent).

[Note: This was the list available when SOM went to Press. Final list of Ministers will be published tomorrow]

Bengaluru: After several days of consultation, the two-member Karnataka Cabinet headed by H.D. Kumaraswamy was expanded this afternoon. The first batch of 25 Ministers for the two-week-old Congress-JD(S) government was sworn-in by Governor Vajubhai R. Vala at the sprawling Glass House in Raj Bhavan.

The swearing-in of the new Ministers began at 2.12 pm as we went to the Press. The much-awaited Cabinet expansion comes after dramatic bouts of bargaining and compromise between the alliance partners.

Among the Ministers who were administered oath of office and secrecy today, ten were from JD(S) and 15 were from Congress.

Once all the Ministers are sworn-in, the Congress, the majority stakeholder in the coalition, will have 22 Ministers of the total 34 while the JD(S) will have 12. Portfolios for the Ministers will be announced later.

The Congress finalised its names in New Delhi late last evening at a meeting with Party Chief Rahul Gandhi, senior Karnataka leaders like former Chief Minister Siddharamaiah, Deputy CM Dr. G. Parameshwara and party leaders Dinesh Gundu Rao and D.K. Shivakumar, besides AICC General Secretary Karnataka in-charge K.C. Venugopal. Sources said that this morning too, telephonic conversations were on with Rahul.

READ ALSO  Calorie-conscious...

D.K. Shivakumar wanted to be Deputy Chief Minister but sources say, after the meeting with Rahul Gandhi, he has agreed to settle for two Ministries. He is likely to take charge of the Irrigation with Medical Education as the second portfolio.

Regarding other portfolios, sources said that Shivashankar Reddy might get Agriculture while George may get Heavy Industries. Revanna is likely to get only PWD. Khader is likely to get Housing and Urban Development while Dr. Parameshwara is likely to get Home and Bengaluru Development. Krishna Byregowda could be made  Law Minister.

2 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “25 Ministers Sworn-in: 15 from Congress, 10 from JD(S)”

  1. Hocfenner Mistry says:

    Now both JD(S) and Congress can both loot Karnataka again with coffers empty in Congress. What a pity though the voters have no choice once they have elected the party shows how we can be manipulated by Sonia and Rahul Gandhi. Rahul Gandhi what a joker he is though mom has made a lot of money as UPA chief and they can run to Italy if they lose 2019 elections. Jai Hind!

    • syed matheen says:

      what BJP had consensus with Reddy in thier last term ?
      You loot mining, we will loot from land mafia.

      How many scams happened in last BJP term?
      How many scams happened in previous congress government?
      How many ministers, MLA went to jail for various crimes ?
      which party they belong to ?
      In last 4 years how many ED, CBI, IT raids happened in Karnataka, which party they belong to? For how many cases arrest warrant was issued ? how many convicted ?
      How BJP was ready to form government this time with out majority ? How BJP formed government in Goa ?


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]