Annual Music Conference of JSS Sangeetha Sabha from Dec.2
Feature Articles

Annual Music Conference of JSS Sangeetha Sabha from Dec.2

December 1, 2019

By Dr. Padmavathi Narasimhan

The Annual Music Conference of JSS Sangeetha Sabha will be held from Dec. 2 to 6 at Navajyothi Sabhangana of JSS Women’s College, Saraswathipuram. The conference will commence in the presence of Sri Shivarathri Deshikendra Swamiji of Suttur Mutt at 5.30 pm.

Prof. Bhashyam Swamiji will inaugurate. MLA S.A. Ramdas will be the chief guest. Senior vocalist Neela Ramgopal is the President of the Conference. B.C. Rajagopal will be honoured with the title ‘Sangeeta Seva Nidhi’ for his yeoman service to music. Three other personalities will also be honoured on the occasion — V.S. Ramesh (morching), Karnataka Kalasri Pustakam Rama (vocal) and Honnappa (vocal). 

Programme schedule

 Dec. 2 at 7 pm: Chaitra Sairam’s vocal concert with Anirudh Bharadwaj on violin, Saishivu Lakshmi Keshav on mridanga and V.S.Ramesh on  morching.

Dec. 3:  The conference starts with the morning session by students of M.L. Bharati performing ‘Sangeetanjali’ at 10 am, which will be followed by two lecture demonstrations. Pattabhiram Pandit will present a paper on ‘Neraval rendering in a concert’ and senior violinist T.K.V. Ramanujacharyulu will give a lecture demonstration on ‘Music-introspection’. 

The evening session will have two concerts — a violin concert by Shruti and Pruthvi Bhaskar, students of HKN at 5 pm and a vocal concert by Pattabhiram Pandit at 6 pm, accompanied by T.K.V. Ramanujacharyulu on violin, H.S. Sudheendra on  mridanga and Vallapalli Krishna Kumar on ghata.

Dec. 4 at 10 am: Students of Guruprasad will render a few compositions followed by Vidwat Goshti. 10.30 am: Special RTP lecture demonstration of Ragavardhini Raga and   Ragavardhini Tala by Sangeeta Kalacharya Neela Ramgopal. 5 pm: Haridas will give a vocal concert with Krithik Kaushik on violin and Vishnuvardhana on mridanga. 6 pm: Parur M.A.Sundareshan and Parur M.A. Krishnaswamy will present a violin duet with Anoor Anathakrishna Sharma and Vallapalli Krishna Kumar on ghata and mridanga.

READ ALSO  Enriching, enthralling and entertaining evening

Dec. 5 at 10 am: Students of Ambaprasad will present ‘Sangeetanjali.’ 10.30 am: Manasanayana will present a paper on the songs of Pu.Ti.Na for which the music is composed by Veena Doreswamy Iyengar. This will be followed by another lecture demonstration on ‘Analysis of compositions of T. Chowdiah’ by  Dr. Padmavathi Narasimhan. 5 pm: Instruments Ensemble by Prasanna Ballal and troupe. 6 pm: Neela Ramgopal will render a vocal concert with Charulata Ramanujam on violin, Tumkur Ravishankar on mridanga and Sharat Kaushik on ghata.

Dec. 6 at 5 pm: Dinesh and Nagesh will present a Nagaswara duet accompanied by Ajaykumar on tavil. 6 pm: In the presence of Suttur Swamiji and Sri 1008 Sri Vidyashreeshateertha Sripadaru, senior musician Neela Ramgopal will be honoured with the prestigious title ‘Sangeeta Vidyanidhi’. Minister C.T. Ravi and senior art patron K.V. Murthy will be present. Dr. Nagamani Srinath will deliver the valedictory address.

7 pm: T.R.Srinath will present a flute recital with Sumanth Manjunath and Anirudh Bhat on violin an mridanga.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]