Blunder at the Oscars !

Blunder at the Oscars !

February 27, 2017

The 89th Academy Awards ended on a dramatic and embarrassing note after veteran actor and presenter of ‘Best Picture’ Warren Beatty wrongly announced the musical ‘La La Land’ as the winner of the Oscar for Best Picture.

In an embarrassment to the biggest event in Hollywood, just as the cast and crew of ‘La La Land’ were midway through the acceptance speech after receiving the award, Warren Beatty walked back to the microphone with the winner’s card in hand displaying to the cameras and stating that there was a mistake and that the film  ‘Moonlight’ was the winner.

The veteran actor then explained that he had been given a card naming Emma Stone, who had just won Best Actress award, as well as the name of the film ‘La La Land’ in which she had acted. This led to the mistake.

This is reminiscent of what happened at the Miss Universe-2015 when the host of the event Steve Harvey wrongly announced Miss Colombia Ariadna Gutierrez as the winner and then crowned her, but two minutes later had to announce Miss Philippines Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach as the actual winner.

And the Oscar goes to…

Best Film: Moonlight

Best Actress: Emma Stone (La La Land)

Best Actor: Casey Affleck (Manchester By The Sea)

Best Director: Damien Chazelle (La La Land)

Best Supporting Actress: Viola Davis (Fences)

Best Supporting Actor: Mahershala Ali  (Moonlight)

Best Original Screenplay: Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester By The Sea)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney (Moonlight)

Best Cinematography: Linus Sandgren

READ ALSO  ‘The Shape of Water’ bags best picture Oscar

(La La Land)

Best Original Score: Justin Hurwitz

(La La Land)

Best Original Song: Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (La La Land)

Best Sound Editing: Sylvain Bellemare (Arrival)

Best Foreign Language Film: Asghar Farhadi (The Salesman)

Best Film Editing: John Gilbert (Hacksaw Ridge)

Best Visual Effects: Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon (The Jungle Book)

Best Production Design: David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds Wasco (La La Land)

Best Sound Mixing: Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace (Hacksaw Ridge)

Best Documentary Feature: Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow (O.J.: Made in America)

Best Animated Film: Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer (Zootopia)

Best Animated Short Film:Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer (Piper)

Best Documentary Short Subject: Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara (The White Helmets)

Best Live Action Short Film: Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy (Sing)

Best Make-up: Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson (Suicide Squad)

Best Costume Design: Colleen Atwood

(Fantastic Beast and Where To Find Them)


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]