Chief Minister for 55 hours
Elections 2018, News

Chief Minister for 55 hours

May 20, 2018

Yeddyurappa, who was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka for the third time on Thursday, resigned from the post only in 55 hours. He  resigned after giving an emotional speech shortly before the trust vote was taken. With that, Yeddyurappa has now the dubious record of one of the shortest stint as Chief Minister of a State.

Some of the CMs who were in the office for very few days are Jagdambika Pal – CM of UP for three days from Feb.21  to Feb. 23 in 1998; Satish Prasad Singh – CM of Bihar for 5 days from Jan.28 to Feb.1 in 1968; S.C. Marak – CM of Meghalaya from Feb.27 to Mar.3 in 1998; Janaki Ramachandran – CM of Tamil Nadu  for 24 days from Jan. 7 to Jan. 30 in 1998; B.P. Mandal – CM of Bihar for 31 days from Feb.1 to Mar.2 in 1968; C.H. Mohd. Koya – CM of Kerala for 45 days from Oct.12 to Dec.1 in 1979; B.S. Yeddyurappa – CM of Karnataka for 7 days from Nov.12 to Nov.19 in 2007.


ONE COMMENT ON THIS POST To “Chief Minister for 55 hours”

  1. Prakash. R says:

    Finally democracy won in Karnataka in spite of modi trying to kill it


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]