CM BSY gets green signal for Cabinet expansion

CM BSY gets green signal for Cabinet expansion

August 7, 2019

Swearing-in likely on Aug. 9; 15 MLAs to join Cabinet

New Delhi: Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa (BSY) is all set to expand his Cabinet after getting a go ahead from BJP High Command. 

BSY, who has been camping in New Delhi since Monday night, met Party Working President J.P. Nadda and held talks regarding expansion. Later, he also met PM  Modi to brief him on flood situation in the State and Cabinet expansion. However, BSY could not meet BJP National President and Union Home Minister Amit Shah yesterday. 

Sources said Cabinet expansion is likely to be held on Aug. 9 during which 15 MLAs would be sworn-in as Ministers. Same day Dasara High Power Committee meet has also been convened by the CM.

This time, the party has decided to do away with Deputy Chief Minister’s post and leaders, who had previously worked as CM and Dy.CMs must now work as Ministers in BSY’s Cabinet.

It has also been decided not to leave out the 17 disqualified MLAs who were in a way responsible for BJP to form the Government. However, their inclusion into Cabinet will depend on Supreme Court’s verdict. It is said that in case the SC quashes Speaker’s orders at least 10-12 of disqualified MLAs would make it to the Cabinet and the rest would be given alternate posts. 

Yediyurappa, who has been facing flak from the Opposition for the delay in Cabinet expansion, is said to have submitted a list of 20 MLAs, which includes names of Jagadish Shettar, K.S. Eshwarappa, Govind Karjol, R. Ashoka, Umesh Katti, B. Sreeramulu, S. Angara, Kota Srinivasa Poojari, C.T. Ravi, Aravind Limbavali, Suresh Kumar, K.G. Bopaiah, Shashikala Jolle, to J.P. Nadda. The list also includes the name of independent MLA Nagesh who withdrew his support to JD(S)-Congress Coalition Government to support BJP. However, the final list would be announced only after holding consultations with Amit Shah.

READ ALSO  State Cabinet approves Rs. 130 cr. to desilt Harangi Dam

Though there are 50-60 party MLAs eyeing for a berth, none of them have spoken in public since the party high command has taken full control over the affairs in the State.

CM leaves for Belagavi

The CM left for Belagavi this morning to monitor the flood situation. His meeting with BJP National President Amit Shah was cancelled owing to the passing away for Sushma Swaraj.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]