Colourful start to South Zone Inter-Varsity Men’s Kho-Kho: 57 teams to take part in 4-day Championship

Colourful start to South Zone Inter-Varsity Men’s Kho-Kho: 57 teams to take part in 4-day Championship

January 17, 2018

The South Zone Inter-University Men’s Kho-Kho Championship 2017-18, conducted by the Department of Physical Education, University of Mysore (UoM) at the University Grounds, got off to a colourful start at the University Grounds here this morning.

Prof. C. Basavaraju, In-charge Vice-Chancellor, UoM, Bharathi, Registrar, UoM, Mahadevappa, Finance Officer, UoM, Grewal, AIU Observer and Dr. P. Krishnaiah, In-charge Director, Department of Physical Education, UoM, by released the ballons in the air symbolically to mark the inauguration of the Championship.

Praveen Kumar of UoM’s kho-kho team took the oath on behalf of the participants. In all, 57 teams from different Universities from South Zone will take part in the Championship.

The then men’s kho-kho team of Mysore University, which won the gold medal in All India Inter-University Kho-Kho Championships held at Bengaluru in 1983-84, was felicitated by the organisers during the inaugural function of the Zone Inter-University Men’s Kho-Kho Championship 2017-18, at the University Grounds in city this morning. The team is seen with (from left) Mahadevappa, Finance Officer, UOM; Prof. C. Basavaraju, In-charge Vice-Chancellor, UoM; Bharathi, Registrar, UoM; Dr. P. Krishniah, in-Charge Director, DPE, UoM; Grewal, All India University’s Board Observer and B.D. Kantharaja, Assistant Director, DPE, UoM.

Earlier, the participating teams gave a colourful march-past and the guests took the salute and later were introduced to the teams.

Marimallappa’s School band gave an excellent display in the march-past. JNTU, Hederabad, was adjudged as the best team in the march-past, followed by University of Kerala and Gulbarga University.

Speaking on the occasion, UoM in-Charge VC Prof. C. Basavaraju, said that today is the happiest day for every sports person involved in this Championship as such tournaments brings togetherness, develops National spirit and equality among sports persons. Sports activities promotes good health of an individual and it also strengthens the society and makes them  healthier citizens.

He also wished all the participants a good tournament and said that Mysore University will be a good host and asked the sports persons to give their best during the Championship.

READ ALSO  Who will be the 25th VC of Mysore Varsity?

He also touched upon the University’s promotion of sports activities and its development. He stressed the need for providing more dormitory facilities for sports persons to stay in the University Sports Complex during the games, and assured that steps will be taken to provide the same in days to come.

Registrar Bharathi also spoke on the occasion and wished all the participants good luck.

The matches will be held on a knock-out-cum-league basis with 36 matches slated for the day (Jan.17).

Mangalore University (the defending champion), Kuvempu University (runner-up), University of Mysore (third place) and University of Calicut (4th place) are directly seeded into the quarter-finals.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]