Dasara Sports 2019: Day-2 sees three records

Dasara Sports 2019: Day-2 sees three records

October 4, 2019

Bengaluru City men and Mysuru women athletes shine

Three new meet records were created on the second and penultimate day of the Dasara Sports 2019 for “The Chief Minster’s Cup” being held the Chamundi Vihar Stadium here yesterday.

Bengaluru City’s athletes hogged the limelight by bagging six of the 12 gold medals at stake in the men’s section with Mysuru Division following them closely with four gold medals. In the women’s section, Mysuru Division athletes impressed by winning seven gold medals out of the 12 gold medals at stake. Bengaluru City followed them winning 5 gold medals.

Vishwambhar Kolekar of Bengaluru City, an employee of South Western Railways, impressed by winning the gold in the men’s 1500mts event with a New Meet Record of 3:55:30 sec erasing his own record of 3:56.0 sec set in 2017.

M.C. Mohan Kumar of Mysuru Division hurled the Shot Put in the men’s section to a record distance of 16.22 mts erasing his own previous meet record of 15.92 mts set in 2013.

V. Ambika of Mysuru Division threw the Shot Put to a record distance of 13.98 mts erasing the previous record of 13.63 mts set by P.S. Uma of Bengaluru City in 2016. T.H. Devaiah of Bengaluru City won his second gold in the middle distance event (he had earlier won 800 mts gold on the first day) by clinching the men’s 400mts gold with a timing of 48.9 sec.


Athletics (Men): (Only winners): 10,000km walk: D. Devaraj (Mysuru, 51:35.9 sec); 110mt Hurdles: R. Sagar ( Bengaluru City, 15.4 sec); 400 mt: T.H. Devaiah (Bengaluru City, 48.9 sec); 1500mt: Vishwambhar Kolekar (Bengaluru City, NMR 3:55:30 sec; Old: 3:56:0s, 2017, self); Triple Jump: B. Naveen (Bengaluru City, 14.33 mt); Discus: Keerthi Kumar (Belagavi, 46.55 mt); Pole Vault: Bhavani Kumar (Mysuru, 3.50 mt); Shot Put: M.C. Mohan Kumar (Mysuru, NMR 16.22 mt; Old: 15.92mt, 2013, Self); Long Jump: B. Naveen (Bengaluru City, 6.89mt); Hammer Throw: Balachandra (Belagavi, 48.20mt); Decathlon: Lokesh Rathod (Bengaluru City, 5251 points); 4x100m Relay: Mysuru, 42.7sec.

READ ALSO  Minister wants grand Dasara Sports in CM’s home turf

Women:10,000km walk: P.V. Reshma (Mysuru, 1:01:38 sec); 100mt Hurdles: Medha Kamath (Bengaluru City, 14.7 sec); 400 mt: M. Likitha (Bengaluru City, 54.7 sec); 1500 mt: L.D. Priya (Mysuru, 4:47.90 sec); Heptathlon: M.R. Dhanusha (Mysuru, 4049 points); Triple Jump: Sridevika (Bengaluru City, 11.79mt); Discus Throw: U. Shrushti (Mysuru, 39.68mt); Long Jump: M.S. Ankitha (Mysuru, 5.59 mt); Hammer Throw: W.R. Harshitha (Mysuru, 52.33 mt); Shot Put: V. Ambika (Mysuru, NMR 13.98mt; Old: 13.63m, P.S. Uma, Bengaluru City, 2016); Pole Vault: G. Sindhushree (Bengaluru City, 3.35 mt); 4x100mt Relay: Bengaluru City, 47.8 sec).

Swimming: Men: (winners only): 1500 mt freestyle: Dhyan Balakrishna (Bengaluru City, 17:27.84 sec); 100mt back stroke: S. Shiva (Bengaluru City, 59.28s); 200mt breast stroke: D.S. Pruthvik (Bengaluru City, 2:32:28 sec); 100m Freestyle: Hiten Mittal (Bengaluru City, 53:93sec); 50mt Butterfly: M. Prithvi (Bengaluru City, 25.86sec); 200mt Individual Medley: S. Shiva ( Bengaluru City, 2:14.22 sec); 4x100mt Freestyle Relay: Bengaluru City, 4:05:59 sec).

Women: 1500mt freestyle: Divya Ghosh (Bengaluru City, 19:52:34sec); 100mt Backstroke: Bhoomika Kesarkar (Bengaluru City, 1:13:03sec); 200mt breast stroke: Harshitha Jairam (Bengaluru City, 3:04:28 sec); 100mt freestyle: Dheeksha Ramesh (Bengaluru City, 1:03:68 sec); 50mt Butterfly: Kushnaaz Soni (Bengaluru City, 31:04 sec); 200mt Individual Medley: S. Thanuja (Bengaluru City, 2:42:85 sec); 4x100mt Freestyle relay: Bengaluru City, 4:30:15 sec).

Team Events: Men: Football: Mysuru bt Kalburgi 7-0, Bengaluru City bt Bengaluru Rural 3-1, Belagavi bt Kalburgi 1-0, Bengaluru City bt Mysuru 1-0; Hockey: Kalaburagi bt Belagavi 3-1, Bengaluru City bt Bengaluru Rural 2-1, Bengaluru City bt Belagavi 3-1, Mysuru bt Kalaburagi 5-0; Kho-Kho: Belagavi bt Kalburgi 20-14 (by 6 points), Bengaluru City bt Bengaluru Rural 23-17 (by 6 points), Bengaluru Rural bt Belagavi 14-5 (by 9 points & a innings); Kabaddi: Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 32-9, Belagavi bt Bengaluru City 34-30, Mysuru bt Kalaburagi 39-8, Bengaluru City bt Bengaluru Rural 21-20, Mysuru bt Belagavi 32-19; Handball: Bengaluru City bt Kalaburagi 27-12, Mysuru bt Bengaluru Rural 29-18, Mysuru bt Belagavi 32-25, Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 33-14; Throwball: Belagum bt Kalaburagi 25-22, 25-10, Mysuru bt Bengaluru Rural 25-16, 25-23.

READ ALSO  Tableaux Display Cultural Opulence

Women: Hockey: Kalaburagi bt Bengaluru Rural 2-1, Bengaluru City bt Belagavi 3-0, Bengaluru Rural drew with Belagavi 2-2, Mysuru bt Bengaluru City 1-0; Handball: Belagavi bt Mysuru 11-4, Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 10-6, Mysuru bt Bengaluru Rural 16-7; Kho-Kho: Bengaluru Rural bt Belagavi 8-6 (2 points & 2.30 minutes to spare); Kabaddi: Bengaluru City bt Belagavi 25-17, 24-26, 25-10, Mysuru bt Bengaluru Rural 25-19, 25-17, Belagavi bt Kalaburagi 25-13, 25-18, Mysuru bt Kalaburagi 25-12, 25-8.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]