Dasara State-Level Cycling Championship: Lokesh, Lena emerge champions

Dasara State-Level Cycling Championship: Lokesh, Lena emerge champions

September 28, 2017

Mysuru’s N. Lokesh and Bengaluru’s Lena Rebra, a German, hogged the limelight bagging the top honours in the men and women sections respectively in the State-Level Dasara Cycling Championship organised by Dasara Sports Sub Committee and Department of Youth Empowerment and Sports (DYES), here yesterday.

Lokesh of Mysuru won the gruelling race in the men’s section (115km) with a timing of 2hr:31.42 sec. Sridhar Savanoor of Jhamkhandi finished second with a timing of 2hr:32.31 sec and took the silver. While, Nagappa Maradi of Belagavi secured the third place with a timing of 2hr:32.32 sec.

In the women’s section, Lena Robra of Bengaluru won the 65km race with a timing of 2hr:04.02 sec. Savitha Hebbalati of Bagalkot took the silver with a timing of 2:05.11 sec  and Sahana Gudinagura of Bagalkot finished third with a timing of 2hr:06.03 sec.

Around 300 cyclists, both   men and women, took part in the races.

The winners took home a cash prize of Rs. 30,000 each, while the second and third place winners secured Rs.25,000 and Rs.20,000 respectively.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]