Elections to 63 ULBs begins

Elections to 63 ULBs begins

May 29, 2019

Mysuru: The elections to 63 Urban Local Bodies (ULB) across the State, excluding City Corporations, began on a brisk note this morning. Over 14 lakh voters are exercising their franchise for electing members to the 63 ULBs  — 8 City Municipal Councils (CMC), 33 Town Municipal Councils (TMC) and 22 Town Panchayats. The voting began at 7 am and concluded at 5 pm.

In Mysuru district, polls are being held for electing representatives to 23 wards in K.R. Nagar Town Municipal Council, 23 wards in Bannur TMC and 31 wards in Nanjangud CMC. A total of 128 candidates are contesting for 31 wards in Nanjangud CMC, while 91 candidates are contesting for 23 wards in K.R. Nagar TMC and 60 candidates for 23 wards in Bannur TMC.

In Chamarajanagar, polls are being held for Gundlupet TMC, Yelandur Town Panchayat and Hanur Town Panchayat. There are 23 wards in Gundlupet TMC, 11 wards in Yelandur Town Panchayat and 13 in Hanur TP.  In Mandya district, polling is being held for 23 wards of Srirangapatna TMC, 23 in K.R. Pet TMC and 23 in Malavalli TMC.

Counting of votes of all ULBs will be taken up on May 31.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]