Former CM Siddharamaiah pacifies Veerashaiva-Lingayat Cong. MLAs

May 23, 2018

Bengaluru:  With Veerashaiva-Lingayat MLAs elected from the Congress becoming apprehensive over getting appropriate number of Cabinet berths in the yet to be formed H.D. Kumaraswamy (HDK)-led Congress-JD(S) coalition Government, former Chief Minister Siddharamaiah met the Community Legislators at a private hotel in city yesterday, where Congress MLAs have been staying after their return from Hyderabad ahead of Saturday’s Floor Test.

Siddharamaiah, who visited the Hotel, spoke in length to the agitated Veerashaiva-Lingayat Congress leaders and asked them to be patient.

On Monday, during the course of Congress Legislative Party (CLP) meeting, the community MLAs had demanded a Deputy  Chief Minister’s (Dy.CM) post and five Cabinet berths for the community, it is learnt.

Also, some MLAs, especially from Vijayapura district, had also warned Siddharamaiah against making former Minister M.B. Patil as Dy.CM or a Minister, accusing him (M.B. Patil) of trying to defeat them in the just concluded Assembly polls. They had also warned of quitting their seats if M.B. Patil is made the Dy.CM, it is also learnt.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]