Hunsur farmers impress at Raitha Dasara
Mysore Dasara 2018, Sports

Hunsur farmers impress at Raitha Dasara

October 14, 2018

As part of ‘Raitha Dasara,’ a sports competition was held for farmers under men’s and women’s categories yesterday at J.K. Grounds here.

The events for men featured running with a backpack of 50kg fertilizer, three-legged race (two men with a leg of each strapped together), gunny sack race and slow cycling.

For women, the events were running with a water-filed pitcher on head, three-legged race, lemon-in-spoon race and frog race.

The events were very amusing as the participants tripped and stumbled as they ran thoroughly enjoying the show well cheered by the admiring spectators.

Interestingly, 28-year-old S.V. Manoj Kumar from Dananayakanapura in T. Narasipur taluk won prizes in three events barring Slow Cycling.

Manoj, who says that lemon rice (chitranna) is the secret behind his stamina, is a passionate athlete who doest not miss playing football everyday.

A strict vegetarian, Manoj is a teetotaller, who is against smoking cigarette and drinking liquor. Manoj, who has been winning the overall championship for the last six years, has been a regular participant since the inception of the Sports Meet as part of Raitha Dasara.

Manoj walked away with a total cash prize of Rs.13,000 and seemed to be a little disappointed with his performance in the Sack Race as he finished second. However, among the 200 plus participants, farmers from Hunsur won many prizes at the event.

Agriculture Joint Director Mahanteshappa, Physical Education Director Suresh and others were present.

Winners of various contests

Men’s section

50kgs Fertilizer Bag Race — 1st prize: S.V. Manoj Kumar, T. Narasipur; 2nd: A. Gurumurthy, Hunsur and 3rd: Ningaraju,               T. Narasipur.

READ ALSO  The Doll House: Why you must visit Jaganmohanam at Jaganmohan Palace this year

Sack Race — 1st: S. Abhilash, Hunsur, 2nd: S.V. Manoj Kumar, T. Narasipur and 3rd: N. Manu, Nanjangud.

Three-legged Race — 1st: S.V. Manoj Kumar and B. Manu, T. Narasipur, 2nd: A. Gurumurthy and Abhilash, Hunsur and 3rd: Kiran Kumar and Darshan, Periyapatna.

Slow Cycle Race — 1st: Shivakumara, K.R. Nagar, 2nd: D.S. Pavan, T. Narasipur and 3rd: Sachin Kumar, Hunsur.

Women’s section

Water Pot Race — 1st: S.R. Rashmi, Nanjangud, 2nd: Bhumika, Hunsur and 3rd: Arpitha, Hunsur.

Three-legged Race — 1st: Dhanu and C. Kavya (Hunsur) 2nd: K.V. Sunanda and Ajantha, Nanjangud and 3rd: Malini and Muthamma, Periyapatna.

Lemon-in-Spoon Race — 1st: Kavitha, Hunsur, 2nd: Bhumika, Hunsur and 3rd: Shan Taj, Mysuru.

Frog Race — 1st: H.P. Manjula, Nanjangud, 2nd: K.N. Vani, Periyapatna and 3rd: K.H.             Malini, Periyapatna.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]