Joshi powers Shivamogga to victory

Joshi powers Shivamogga to victory

September 12, 2017

Mysuru: Anirudh Joshi’s trailblazing 27-ball unbeaten 54 helped Namma Shivamogga register victory against Bengaluru Blasters in the Karbonn Smartphones Karnataka Premier League at the SDNR Wadiyar Ground at Manasagangothri in Mysuru, yesterday. Joshi’s match-winning knock ensured Shivamogga toppled Bengaluru’s 142 for 6 with an over to spare, Shivamogga ending with 146 for 6.

The win lifted Shivamogga to second spot in the table. Bengaluru remain at the bottom, yet to get their first points on board.

Shivamogga’s chase got off to the worst possible start as the Bengaluru bowlers built dot-ball pressure and used it to chip away at the wickets. Nihal Ullal was dismissed for nought. The quick-scoring Liyan Khan (10) was the next to fall. R. Jonathan was then unfortunate to be run-out without facing a ball and Shivamogga were reduced to 17 for 3 within five overs.

Abdul Majid and Shoaib Manager set about reviving the innings, picking the gaps. Once Majid settled, the shots flowed – there was a mighty six over cow corner off Abhishek Bhat. He was fortunate to be reprieved thereafter, R. Samarth dropping him on 10 off a tough chance. The 42-run stand was broken when a Manager (14) skier ended up down the fielder’s throat.

The course of the match changed after Joshi arrived though. The big-hitting all-rounder clobbered Sinan Abdul Khader in the 13th over, picking a massive 28 runs off it.

Though Majid was dismissed by Bhat for a 32-ball 40 in the 15th over, Shivamogga was always the favourite as long as Joshi was in the middle. Bengaluru perhaps dropped the match when Joshi was dropped on 42 by Mitrakanth in the deep off Bhat’s bowling. He brought up the win with four through covers, getting to his fifty off just 26 balls en route, despite captain Akhil being run-out in the interim.

READ ALSO  Hubli Tigers tame Belagavi Panthers

Earlier, Bengaluru’s batting woes continued after being put in, losing their openers within two overs. R. Samarth (1) didn’t get his timing quite right, popping one to mid-off in T. Pradeep’s first over, before the big-hitting M. Vishwanathan was caught behind off Aditya Somanna in the very next over. Shishir Bhavane and Reddy then looked to revive the innings by picking singles and rotating strike, but the brief stand of 16 was broken in the fifth over, Abrar Kazi’s delivery staying low to clatter Bhavane’s stumps.

With Pavan Deshpande in the middle, Reddy finally had a steady partner. The two put away the boundaries when they could, but their primary mode of scoring was through singles. In fact, the first six of the day came only in the tenth over.

It wasn’t until the 12th over when the two deemed it safe to attack. Deshpande was fortunate when an attempted drive flew off his edge to the fence off Akhil Balachandra. Reddy found the fence more intentionally, targeting Shoaib Manager in the next over for a couple of boundaries, including a six that ended up deep in the stands.

Bengaluru could have used Manjesh going into the death overs, but just as he looked on the up, he was sent on his way. Somanna had him trapped plumb in front as he looked to play around a straight delivery, and his 43-ball knock of 37 ended. Deshpande took that as a cue to charge, twice finding the fence off Ashraf. Rajoo Bhatkal then hit a maximum off Abrar Kazi, but Shivamogga had another breakthrough when Deshpande, having scored a 36-ball 47, miscued an attempted heave off Somanna in the penultimate over.

READ ALSO  Karbonn Smartphones Karnataka Premier League – Season 6: Players' auction tomorrow

However, Bengaluru managed to boost their total further with Bhatkal hammering two huge sixes in the final two deliveries of the innings, ruining Pradeep’s figures while at it. It would have been enough had it not been for Joshi.

Brief Scores: Bengaluru Blasters 142 for 6 in 20 overs (Manjesh Reddy 37, Pavan Deshpande 47; T. Pradeep 2 for 35, Aditya Somanna 3 for 21) lost to Namma Shivamogga 146 for 6 in 19 overs (Abdul Majid 40, Anirudh Joshi 54 not out; Prasidh Krishna 1-15).

Today’s Match

Belagavi Panthers Vs Ballari Tuskers

Venue: SDNR Wadiyar Stadium, Manasagangothri, Mysuru.

Tomorrow NO Match



Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]com
For News/Press Release: [email protected]