List of 16 Dasara elephants sent to PCCF Office in Bengaluru

List of 16 Dasara elephants sent to PCCF Office in Bengaluru

July 13, 2017

Mysuru: Following a preliminary meeting of the Dasara Committee held in the city on July 4, the forest officials have identified 20 elephants out of which the list of 16 elephants has been sent to the Office of the Principal Chief Conservator of Forests (PCCF) in Bengaluru today.

DCF (Wildlife) Elukundala said that three new elephants — Drona, Krishna and Bheema — have been selected along with female elephants Sarala, Cauvery, Varalakshmi and Vijaya and the experienced Abhimanyu, Arjuna, Balarama, Gopalaswamy, Vikrama, Gopi, Harsha, Prashanth and Gajendra.

DCF Elukundala and Veterinarian Dr. D.N. Nagaraj, led the selection process. The first batch of Gajapayana from Veeranahosahalli Gate in Nagarahole National Park will begin on Aug. 10.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]