Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards announced

Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards announced

November 26, 2022

While the Fellows will be given Rs. 3 lakh, the awardees will be given Rs. 1 lakh, besides a Tamrapatra and Angavastram

New Delhi: Dr. Vasundhara Doraswamy, Vid. R.K. Padmanabha, Pt. Vinayak Torvi, H.R. Leelavathi and Pt. Ravindra Yavagal are among the among the Sangeet Natak Akademi awardees announced by the Union Ministry of Culture yesterday.

In all, there were 128 recipients of the awards the Akademi announced for the years 2019, 2020 and 2021 in the fields of music, dance, theatre, traditional, folk, tribal music, puppetry and overall contribution to the performing arts. Apart from that, the Akademi announced a one-time Sangeet Natak Akademi Amrit Award under Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM) commemorating 75 years of India’s Independence for 86 artistes. The Akademi also announced ten eminent personalities in the field of performing arts as Akademi Fellows.

From Karnataka, the Ustad Bismillah Khan Youth Award went to B.R. Arun Kumar (music), Amit A. Nadik (flute) and Vasant Kiran (Kucchipuddi).

While the Fellows will be given Rs. 3 lakh, the awarded will be given Rs. 1 lakh, besides a Tamrapatra  and Angavastram.

The Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards will be conferred by the President of India.

The awardees from Karnataka for 2019 include Vinayak Torvi (Hindustani Vocal) and Manju Bhargavi (Kuchipuddi). The 2020 awardees from the State include H.G. Lakshmidevamma (Folk) and Arathi Angkalikar (Hindustani music). Awardees for 2021 include Ravindra Yavagal (Tabla), H.R. Lilawathi (Sugama Sangeetha), Garthikere Raghanna (Janapada) and D. Balakrishna (Veena). The one-time award was bagged by Gauri Kuppuswamy (Karnatak Music), Anusuya Kulkarni, Lalita Srinivasan (Bharatanatyam), A.S. Jayatheertha (Theatre) and Marappa Das (folk).

READ ALSO  Dr. Rukmini Devi Arundale Award for city danseuse

“The eminent artistes cover the entire gamut of the performing arts such as vocal music, both Hindustani and Karnatak; instrumental music, both Hindustani and Karnatak including flute, sitar and mridanga; sugama sangeetha as well as harikatha; the major forms of Indian dance such as Bharatanatyam, Kathak, Kathakali, Kuchipudi, Odissi, Sattriya, Mohiniattam as well as contemporary dance; the different specializations of theatre such as playwriting, direction, acting, make-up, lighting, stage design; major traditions of theatre like Isai Natakam; the folk and tribal arts as well as the arts of puppetry and instrument making,” a release by the Ministry said.

Apart from that, musician Bickram Ghosh and spiritual singer Anup Jalota won the award for 2020, while Karnatak vocalists Charumathi Ramachandran and Pala C.K. Ramachandran won the award in 2019.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]