Tigers trounce Panthers to enter KPL final

Tigers trounce Panthers to enter KPL final

August 31, 2019

To battle with Ballari Tuskers this evening

Mohammad Taha’s unorthodoxy made all the difference in Hubli Tigers’ surge to the final as R. Vinay Kumar’s men notched a 26-run win over Belagavi Panthers in the Qualifier-2 of Karnataka Premier League (KPL), here yesterday.

Taha’s 44-ball 63 combined with a stringent bowling display on a spinning wicket at the SDNR Wadiyar Stadium, meant the Tigers will take on Ballari Tuskers in the final of the eighth edition KSCA’s marquee event later in the day.

This is the Tigers’ third trip to the final and the hope will be to raise the trophy for the first time.

The Tigers were bowled out for a seemingly meek 154 in 20 overs after being put in, but once the Panthers’ innings got underway, the former champions pressed the panic button far too early and ended on a disappointing 128 all out in 19.4 overs.

Shreyas Gopal returned figures of 2 for 17 in four overs. Mitrakanth Yadav bagged just the one but he conceded a mere 12 in his quota. Praveen Dubey had 2 for 31 in four overs. Abhilash Shetty, the left-arm seamer, benefited from all the pressure from the other end, picking up three wickets for 33 runs. Aditya Somanna’s medium pace yielded 2 for 21 in 2.4 overs.

While it came together impressively on the bowling front for the Tigers, their batting surely didn’t. After having scored 190 on an identical strip in their Eliminator win over Shivamogga Lions on Thursday, much was expected from the Tigers.

READ ALSO  'Mysuru Warriors' to conduct Cricket Talent Hunt

They looked every bit as aggressive with Taha’s awkward slashes and lofted flicks doing a bulk of the damage early on, but then they ran into Ritesh Bhatkal (2/26), Shubhang Hegde (1/24) and debutant A. Shreesha (3/34). The three spinners combined to bowl 12 overs — a full four-over quota for each — for 84 runs. More than that, they were instrumental in keeping the Tigers down to 73 runs in the last ten overs.

The Tigers scored 34 runs and lost six wickets — four to run-outs — in the last five overs. It didn’t look good for the Tigers going into the break, but about an hour into the second innings, they were almost certain of progressing to the final. And when you have four bowlers pick up more than two wickets in a T20, you’re bound to end up on the winning side.

Brief Scores

Hubli Tigers: 154 for 10 (Mohammad Taha 63, K.B. Pawan 31, Pravin Dubey 29; Ritesh Bhatkal 2-26, A. Shreesha 3-34) beat Belagavi Panthers: 128 for 10 in 19.4 overs (Abhinav Manohar 38; Abhilash Shetty 3-33, Shreyas Gopal 2-17, Pravin Dubey 2-31, Aditya Somanna 2-21).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]