University of Mysore to honour sports achievers

University of Mysore to honour sports achievers

March 27, 2017

Department of Physical Education, University of Mysore will felicitate sportspersons, coach and manager of the teams which won medals in the All India Inter-University tournaments held during the year 2016-17. The sportspersons will be handed over cash prizes and blazers.

The following are the sportspersons who will be honoured during the event.

Athletics: Meghana Devang, Maharani’s Arts College, Silver medal in Shot Put in the All-India Inter-University Athletic championships 2016 (13.73m)- Cash Prize: Rs.15,000.

T.S. Ravi, Athletic coach, University of Mysore, Cash Prize: Rs.15,000 and N. Ramesh, Athletics Team Manager, Govt. College (Autonomous), Mandya- Rs.15,000.

Yoga: University of Mysore Men’s team won the silver in the All-India Inter-University. The team members include: N. Sanjay (JSS College, Nanjangud), J. Sanjay Kumar (Vidyavardhaka College), J. Praveen Kumar (Citizen FGC, Nanjangud), M. Akshay (Citizen FGC, Nanjangud), H.B. Mahadevaswamy (JSS College, Nanjangud), B. Ravi (Yoga coach, UoM), Anthony Moses (Manager, Physical Director, Teresian College), each to receive a cash prize of Rs. 15,000.

Kho-Kho:  University of Mysore Women’s Kho-Kho team won the bronze medal in the All-India Inter-University women’s kho-kho Tournament. The team members include:

  1. R. Ruchitha (Maharani’s Commerce College), K.S. Prapulla (Maharani’s College), D. Poornima & D.Sneha (GFGC, Kyathanahalli), Lathashree (Vidyodaya FGC, T.N.Pura), M. Manjula (Vidyodaya FGC, T.N. Pura), K.S. Amulya (Vidyodaya FGC, T.N.Pura), K.S. Megha (Vidyodaya FGC, T.N.Pura), S. Sushma (Vidyodaya FGC, T.N. Pura), K.S. Bhavya (Vidyodaya FGC, T.N.Pura), N.Sushma (Vidyodaya FGC, T.N.Pura), K.M.Pallavi (Govt.FGC, Bharathinagara), B.D. Kantharaja (Kho-Kho Coach, UoM) and Kumaraswamy (Team Manager) Govt .Women’s College, Mandya. Each will receive Rs.15,000 cash prize.
  2. Sridhar, the winner of Mr. University title and a student of DeJaGow First Grade Evening College, Mysuru, will receive a cash prize of Rs. 5,000. This apart the athletes, who have set records in the University of Mysore Inter-collegiate Athletic Meet during the year 2016-17 will also be honoured with a cash prize of Rs. 5,000 each. They include: Navya Shetty (B. Somani College, Discus Throw), V. Priyanka (Teresian College, 800 mts run), S.G. Priyanka (Teresian College, 100 mts Hurdles), R. Arpitha (Govt. College for Women, Mandya, 5km walk), H.R. Harshitha (Teresian College, Hammer Throw), H.R. Navami (Teresian College, 4x100mts Relay), R.A. Chaitra (Teresian College, 4x100mts Relay), M. Likitha (Teresian College, 4×400 mts relay), V. Priyanka (Teresian College, 4×400 mts relay), Bhakshith Salian (B. Somani College, 400 mts Hurdles), Jagadeesh (B. Somani FGC, 4×100 mts Relay), R. Sagar (B.Somani FGC, 4x100mts Relay), M. Mohith Kumar Chavan (Basudeva Somani FGC, 4×100 mts Relay), Sandeep Gowda ( B. Somani FGC, 4x100m Relay).
READ ALSO  Revamp higher education system in country at earliest: Dr. Kasturirangan

The Post Graduate Sports Council (PGSC) men’s cross country team and Vidyodaya Arts and Commerce FGC women’s team will receive a cash prize of Rs. 10,000 each. This part, the PGSC Men will also receive Rs. 15,000 for winning the team championship during the inter-collegiate athletic meet along with women’s team which won the team championship in the women’s category. The above mentioned team will again receive cash prize of Rs. 20,000 each for winning the team championship in the University of Mysore Inter-collegiate Inter-Zonal Sports meet held recently.

Recent News

Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]