Dasara Games 2019: Two records set on day one

Dasara Games 2019: Two records set on day one

October 3, 2019

Two New Meet Records were created on the inaugural day of the Dasara Games 2019 for “The Chief Minsters’ Cup” athletic events at Chamundi Vihar Stadium here yesterday. Bengaluru City athletes hogged the limelight by bagging five of the eight gold medals at stake on the first day of the athletic meet.

Mysuru Division with two golds and three silver medals and two bronze medals is placed second after day one of the athletic events. 

New Meet Record

V.A. Shashikanth of Sports Hostel, Bengaluru, a II PUC student from Al-Ameen College, Bengaluru, representing Bengaluru City, emerged as the fastest man of the Meet by winning the gold with a New Meet Record timing of 10.50s, erasing the 22-year-old record of 10.60s set by Clifford Joshua of Bengaluru City in 1997 and equalled by Sonith Mendon of Mysuru in 2009 and Manish of Mysuru Division in 2017.

In the last event of the day, Chaitra Devadiga of Alva’s brought some cheers for hosts Mysuru Division by winning the women’s 5000m gold with a New Meet Record timing of 17:38.6s, erasing the old mark of 18:15.8s set by Thippavva Sannaki of Mysuru Division in 2009.

N.S. Inchara of Bengaluru City won the women’s 100m gold with a timing of 11.8s and emerged as the fastest woman of the Meet.


Athletics (Winners)

Men – 100m: V.A. Shashikanth (Bengaluru City), 800m: T.H. Devaiah (Bengaluru City), 400m Hurdles: M.D. Amar (Belagavi), 5000m: Vishwambhar (Bengaluru City); Women – 100m: N.S. Inchara (Bengaluru City), 800m: R. Usha (Bengaluru City), 5000m: Chaitra Devadiga (Mysuru Division), 400m Hurdles: R. Sindhu (Mysuru Division).

READ ALSO  Record-breaking shot-putter : M.C. Mohan Kumar

Team Events

Men — Hockey: Belagavi bt Mysuru 1-0, Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 10-1; Football: Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 3-0, Belagavi drew with Mysuru 1-1, Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 3-0, Bengaluru City bt Kalaburagi 3-1, Belagavi bt Bengaluru Rural 2-1; Basketball: Mysuru bt Kalaburagi 74-69, Bengaluru City bt Bengaluru Rural 60-56; Handball: Mysuru bt Kalaburagi 40-18, Throwball: Bengaluru City bt Belagavi 25-12, 25-17, Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 25-10, 25-17, Mysuru bt Belagavi 25-17, 25-11; Ball-Badminton: Mysuru bt Belagavi 35-15, 35-12, Bengaluru City bt Kalaburagi 35-31, 35-16, Bengaluru Rural bt Belagavi 35-18, 35-17, Mysuru bt Kalaburagi 35-22, 35-20, Bengaluru City bt Belagavi 35-19, 35-13; Netball: Mysuru bt Kalaburagi 50-17, Belagavi bt Bengaluru City 35-28.

Women — Hockey: Mysuru bt Belagavi 6-0, Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 3-0; Basketball: Mysuru bt Bengaluru City 53-34, Handball: Mysuru bt Kalaburagi 23-3; Throwball: Bengaluru City bt Kalaburagi 25-8, 25-14, Mysuru bt Belagavi 25-22, 25-12, Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 25-12, 25-16; Ball-Badminton: Mysuru bt Belagavi 35-9, 35-19, B’luru City bt Kalaburagi 35-25, 35-19, Bengaluru Rural bt Belagavi 35-24, 35-20; Netball: Bengaluru City bt Kalaburagi 39-30, Mysuru bt Belagavi 44-8, Bengaluru Rural bt Kalaburagi 46-9; Kho-Kho: B’luru Rural bt Kalaburagi 15-14 (by one point & 4.50s), Mysuru bt Belagavi 13-1 (by 12 points & a innings), B’luru City bt Belagavi 10-4 (by 6 points & a innings).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]