ICC World Cup-2019: Australia beat Afghanistan

ICC World Cup-2019: Australia beat Afghanistan

June 2, 2019

David Warner led holders Australia to a routine seven-wicket win against Afghanistan with an unbeaten 89 at the start of their World Cup defence.

Chasing a below-par 208, Warner steered his side to victory with 91 balls to spare after captain Aaron Finch helped set the tone with 66 off 49. Pat Cummins and Adam Zampa took three wickets apiece as Afghanistan were bowled out for just 207.

Najibullah Zadran (51) impressed, however, with some powerful strokeplay.

Australia, who came into this tournament in resurgent form with overseas series victories against India and Pakistan, have now won nine one-day internationals in a row. The last time that happened was during their victorious 2015 World Cup campaign; a run which began with a 275-run win against Afghanistan.


Afghanistan: 207 in 38.2 overs (Najibullah Zardan 51, Gulbadin Naib 31, Rahamat Shah 43, Rashid Khan 27, Pat Cummins 3 for 40, Adam Zampa 3 for 60, Marcus Stoinis 2 for 37) lost to Australia: 209 for 3 in 34.5 overs (David Warner 89 n.o., Aaron Flinch 66); Player of the Match: David Warner.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]