IPL auction 2017
News, Sports

IPL auction 2017

February 20, 2017

RPS buys Ben Stokes for a whopping Rs. 14.5 crore; K. Gowtham of Mysuru Warriors sold to MI for Rs. 2 cr

Bengaluru, Feb. 20- Ben Stokes of England became the most expensive overseas acquisition in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL) as Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) bought him for a whopping Rs. 14.5 crore during the IPL-10 auction being held at a private hotel here  this morning.

In an intensely-contested bidding that was kick-started by two heavyweights Mumbai Indians (MI) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), the Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Daredevils also entered the bidding process but none of the four teams could match up to the valuation of RPS. Stokes also became the second-most expensive buy in IPL after Yuvraj Singh for Rs. 16 crore in IPL-2015.

England’s Chris Woakes was snapped up by Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs. 4.2 crore while Rashid Khan Arman became the highest bid Afghanistan player as Sunrisers Hyderabad bought him for Rs. 4 crore. South African Kagiso Rabada was taken by Delhi Daredevils for Rs. 5 crore. Meanwhile, Karn Sharma became the highest Indian player to be bid in the auction till now as he was picked up by Mumbai Indians for Rs. 3.2 crore.

K. Gowtham, the Karnataka all-rounder, who plays for the Mysuru-based franchise Mysuru Warriors in the Karnataka Premiere League (KPL),was sold to Mumbai Indians for Rs. 2 crore. Mohammad Nabi created history by becoming the first Afghanistan player to be picked in IPL. He was sold to Sunrisers Hyderabad for a base price of Rs. 30 lakh.

READ ALSO  Expect IPL to go ahead this autumn as imminent decision to be made

The bidding was still on when we went to the press.

Players bought during auction

Delhi Daredevils: Angelo Mathews (Rs. 2 cr.), Corey Anderson (Rs. 1 cr.), Kagiso Rabada (Rs.5 cr.), Pat Cummins (Rs. 4.50 cr.), Ankit Bawne (Rs. 10 lakh), Aditya Tare (Rs. 25 lakh), Murugan Ashwin (Rs. 1 cr).

Gujarat Lions: Nathu Singh (Rs. 50 lakh), Basil Thampy (Rs. 85 lakh), Tejas Singh Baroka (Rs. 10 lakh), Manpreet Gony (Rs. 60 lakh).

Kings XI Punjab: Eoin Morgan (Rs. 2 cr.), Rahul Tewatia (Rs.25 lakh), T. Natarajan (Rs. 3 cr.), Matt Henry (Rs. 50 lakh), Varun Aaron (Rs. 2.80 cr.).

Kolkata Knight Riders: Trent Boult (Rs. 5 cr.), Chris Woakes (Rs. 4.20 cr.), Rishi Dhawan (Rs. 55 lakh).

Mumbai Indians: Nicholas Pooran (Rs.30 lakh), Mitchell Johnson (Rs. 2 cr.), K. Gowtham (Rs. 2 cr.), Karn Sharma (Rs. 3.2 cr.).

Rising Pune Supergiants: Ben Stokes (Rs. 14.50 cr.), Jaydev Unadkat (Rs. 30 lakh).

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Pawan Negi (Rs. 1 cr.), Tymal Mills (12 cr.), Aniket Choudhary (Rs. 2 cr.).

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Tanmay Agarwal (Rs.10 lakh), Mohammad Nabi (Rs.30 lakh), Ekalavya Dwivedi (Rs.75 lakh), Rashid Khan (Rs.4 cr.), Pravin Tambe (Rs.10 lakh).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]