Rohit to lead India against Bangladesh in T20s

Rohit to lead India against Bangladesh in T20s

October 25, 2019

Indian opener Rohit Sharma will lead the team for the upcoming three-match T20I home series against Bangladesh, while regular captain Virat Kohli has been rested for the series.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee also announced the Test squad for the two-match series against the same opposition. In the shorter format of the game, Kerala wicket-keeper and batsman Sanju Samson and leg-break bowler Yuzvendra Chahal returned to the squad, while Mumbai-based all-rounder Shivam Dube got his maiden call-up.

The selection committee also named an unchanged squad for longer format of the game. Shahbaz Nadeem, who was roped in place of Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav to play the final Test against South Africa in Ranchi, was left out. It was Jharkhand spinner’s debut match.

According to Prasad, injured pacer Jasprit Bumrah will take more time to make a comeback in the team, while medium-pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar may return to the team in the next series against West Indies. Meanwhile, former captain M.S. Dhoni continues to remain unavailable for the third series in a row. The three match T20I series is scheduled to be held between Nov. 3 and Nov. 10 followed up the two match Test series from Nov. 14.

Squads for the series

T20I Series: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, K.L. Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur.

Test Series: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket Keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]