State-level Dasara Games 2017: Three records set on Day-2
Dasara 2017, Sports

State-level Dasara Games 2017: Three records set on Day-2

September 24, 2017

Three new meet records were created on the second day of the State-level Dasara track & field athletic events at the Chamundi Vihar Stadium here on Saturday.

M.J. Ashwin (400m), Vishwambar Kolekar (1500m), both of Bengaluru City in the men’s section and Prajna S. Prakash (B’lore City-100m Hurdles) set new meet records on the second day of the athletic events. Bengaluru City leads the medal tally on second day, Bengaluru City lead the medal tally in the track & field athletic events with 11 Gold, 7 Silver and 4 Bronze medals. Mysuru Division followed them with 7 Gold, 7 Silver and 9 Bronze medals.

Three new records

Ashwin of DYES, Bengaluru City, created a new meet record in the 400m event, clocking 48.0s. He erased the eight-year-old record of 48.1s set by Jayaprakash C. Shetty of Bengaluru City in 2009.

Vishwambar Kolekar of Bengaluru clinched the Gold in the 1500m event with a new meet record timing of 3:56.0s erasing the old record of 3:58.0s set by Bharath of Bengaluru in 2016. Prajna Prakash of Bengaluru also created a new meet record in the 100m hurdles event for women, with a timing of 13.9s, erasing nine-year-old mark of 14.2s set by Seema Priyadarshini of Mysuru Division in 2008.

Swimming: In swimming, Mysuru Division’s V.B. Hemanth Jenukal won the Individual championship title in the men’s section with 19 points. Bengaluru City won the overall team championship in the men’s section with 69 points.

In the women’s section, H.M. Preksha of Bengaluru City emerged as the Individual champion with 15 points. Bengaluru City won the team championship title in the women’s section with 75 points. Dhanaraj of Dakshina Kannada was crowned as the ‘Mr.Dasara Sri 2017’ in the Best Physique competition in the weight category.

READ ALSO  Jumboo Savari: Don’t climb heritage, old buildings

Results (Winners)

Athletics: Men 400m: Ashwin (B’luru – NMR,.48.0s, Old: 48.1s, 2009, B’luru – Jayaprakash Shetty), 1500m: Vishwambar Kolekar (Bengaluru – NMR,.3:56.0s, Old: 3:58.0s,2016, B’luru -K.A. Bharath), 110m Hurdles: Amarnath (Belagavi, 14.6s), High Jump: Nithin (Mysuru, 1.96m), 4x100m Relay: B’luru, 42.4s.

Women: 400m: H.R. Navami (Mysuru, 55.6s), 1500m: R. Usha (B’luru (R), 5:01.8s), 100m Hurdles: Prajna Prakash (NMR,.13.9s, Old:14.2s,2008, Mysuru-Seema Priyadarshini), Discus: Likitha (B’luru, 39.86m), High Jump: Harshinikumari (B’luru-1.63m), 4x100m Relay: Bengaluru 47.4s.

Team Games: Men: Hockey: B’luru (C) bt Kalburgi 10-2, Bengaluru (R) bt Mysuru 1-0, Kalburgi bt Belgaum 4-3, Bengaluru (R) bt B’luru (C) 2-0, Tennis: Final: B’luru (R) bt Mysuru 2-1 ( Basavaraj lost to Aryan Pathange 5-7, 1-6, Alok Aradhya bt Manish 7-6 (3), 6-3, Alok Aradhya/Basavaraj bt Aryan Pathange/Manish 7-5, 6-2), Kabaddi: B’luru (R) bt Kalburgi 40-16, Bengaluru City tied with Belagavi 32-32, Kho-Kho: Kalburgi bt Belagavi 20-5, B’luru (C) bt Bengaluru (R) 12-11, B’luru (C) bt Belagavi 14-6 (Innings & 8points), Mysuru bt Kalburgi 16-4, Football: B’luru (R) bt Kalburgi 2-1, Mysuru drew with Belagavi 1-1, Bengaluru bt Kalburgi 2-1, Belagavi bt B’luru (R) 2-0, Bengaluru (R) bt B’luru 5-0, Mysuru bt Kalburgi 5-0, Volleyball: B’luru bt Kalburgi 25-17, 25-10, 25-18, Mysuru bt Belagavi 25-19, 22-25, 25-27, 26-24, 15-9, Handball: Mysuru bt Kalburgi 45-14, B’luru bt Belagavi 29-23, Throwball: Belagavi bt Kalburgi 25-18, 25-13, Belagavi bt Mysuru 25-14, 25-20, Bengaluru bt Kalburgi 25-8, 25-9, Bengaluru (R) bt Belagavi 25-9, 25-16, B’luru bt Mysuru 25-18, 25-19.

Women: Hockey: Belagavi bt B’luru (R) 4-1, Mysuru bt Bengaluru (C) 3-0, Kalburgi bt Belagavi 4-0, Bengaluru (C) bt B’luru (R) 5-0. Tennis: Final: Bengaluru (R) bt Bengaluru 2-0 (S. Kushi bt R.V. Koushika 6-4, 6-3, Sagarika R. Sonni bt N.G. Manoja 6-2, 4-6, 10-6).

READ ALSO  Rumours of Golden Howdah on chariot scoffed

Kabaddi: Mysuru bt Belagavi 40-15, B’luru bt Kalburgi 49-27, Belagavi bt B’luru (R) 48-32, B’luru (R) bt Kalburgi 41-15.

Throwball: Mysuru bt B’luru (R) 25-17, 25-18, Belagavi bt Kalburgi 25-19, 25-12, B’luru bt Belagavi 25-11, 25-6, B’luru bt Kalburgi 25-12, 25-16, B’luru (R) bt Kalburgi 25-15, 25-14, Handball: Mysuru bt Kalburgi 18-6.

Kho-Kho: Bengaluru bt Kalburgi 15-6, B’luru (R) bt Belagavi 7-2.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.

Recent Comments

Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]