These candidates couldn’t vote for themselves this election!
Elections 2018, News

These candidates couldn’t vote for themselves this election!

May 12, 2018

Mysuru: During the 1990 Maharashtra State Assembly elections, Congress candidate Anees Ahmed lost to Janata Dal candidate Yashwant Bajirao by just six votes from the then Nagpur Central constituency. Political experts then said Ahmed was unfortunate as he and his family members could not vote for him because they stayed in Chhaoni that was part of Nagpur West constituency.

The above example is just to illustrate that every vote matters for a candidate and that too, when the victory margin is wafer-thin.

In Mysuru this time, in all its 11 constituencies, many candidates and their families cannot vote for their own family candidate in the constituency from where he is contesting as they don’t live in the same constituency.

Over 14 candidates from all the main political parties and some independents in Mysuru are facing this predicament.

Chief Minister Siddharamaiah for instance cannot vote in Chamundeshwari where he is fighting a titanic clash with JD(S) incumbent MLA G.T. Devegowda as he (CM) has his name in the voter list of Siddaramanahundi in Varuna. But the saving grace for him is that he can vote for his son Dr. Yathindra in Varuna.

CM’s close aide Dr. H.C. Mahadevappa too has his name in the voters list of Hadinaru village in Varuna while he is contesting in T.Narasipur constituency.

Even the BJP candidate from T. Narasipur S. Shankar cannot vote for himself in the constituency as his vote is in Chamundeshwari constituency. T. Narasipur JD(S) candidate Ashwin Kumar has his name in Varuna voters list and he too cannot vote for himself in T. Narasipur.

READ ALSO  Two UoM Professors in soup for supporting Congress

In Nanjangud, BJP candidate Harshavardhan, the son-in-law of former Minister and Dalit leader V. Sreenivasa Prasad, cannot vote at the place where he is contesting as his name is in the voters list of Bengaluru. Even the JD(S) Nanjangud candidate H.S. Dayananda Murthy belongs to Varuna and he  has to vote there.

In Hunsur, JD(S) candidate A.H. Vishwanath belongs to Adagooru in K.R. Nagar and he has no chance of voting for himself in Hunsur.

Similarly, Siddaraju, BJP candidate from H.D. Kote, has his name in Krishnaraja constituency and he cannot vote in the constituency where he is  contesting.

Even Anil Chikkamadu, who is contesting on a Congress ticket in H.D. Kote, cannot vote in H.D. Kote as his name is in Hosaramehalli in Hunsur Assembly segment.

In Periyapatna, S. Manjunath of BJP cannot vote for himself as he hails from Bengaluru and has to vote in the State capital. For Chamaraja JD(S) candidate Prof. K.S. Rangappa, it is not possible for him to vote for himself in Chamaraja as he hails from Chamundeshwari constituency. Also, his political rival in Chamaraja L. Nagendra of BJP cannot vote in Chamaraja as he hails from Krishnaraja constituency.

Narasimharaja BJP candidate Sandesh Swamy has his name in Krishnaraja constituency and he invariably cannot vote for himself.

JD(S) Narasimharaja candidate Abdul Azeez hails from Mangaluru and he has to vote in the coastal town instead of voting in Narasimharaja where he is trying his luck.

In K.R. Nagar, for a change, all the three candidates (BJP- Shwetha Gopal, Congress – D. Ravishankar and JD(S) – S.R. Mahesh) can vote for themselves as all of them hail from the same constituency.

READ ALSO  Ambarish breaks silence; opts out of poll fray citing health
Candidates Contest from Voting in
Siddharamaiah Chamundeshwari Varuna
H.C. Mahadevappa T. Narasipur Varuna
Prof. K.S. Rangappa Chamaraja Chamundeshwari
L. Nagendra Chamaraja Krishnaraja
Sandesh Swamy Narasimharaja Krishnaraja
Harshavardhan Nanjangud Bengaluru
Dayananda Murthy Nanjangud Varuna
Anil Chikkamadu H.D. Kote Hunsur
S. Manjunath Periyapatna Bengaluru
Siddaraju H.D. Kote Krishnaraja
Abdul Azeez Narasimharaja Mangaluru
A.H. Vishwanath Hunsur K.R. Nagar
S. Shankar T. Narasipur Chamundeshwari
Ashwin Kumar T. Narasipur Varuna

Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]