After beating Delhi Capitals by 57 runs in Qualifier 1…Mumbai Indians seal place in IPL-2020 Final

After beating Delhi Capitals by 57 runs in Qualifier 1…Mumbai Indians seal place in IPL-2020 Final

November 6, 2020

Mumbai Indians (MI) marched into the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 Final after they beat Delhi Capitals (DC) by 57 runs in Qualifier 1 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium last night.

After fifties from Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav and cameos from Hardik Pandya and Quinton de Kock powered MI to 200/5, Jasprit Bumrah and Trent Boult ran through DC’s line-up, restricting them to 143/8.

Needing 201 runs to win, DC were reduced to 0/3. Boult bowled a two-wicket maiden, dismissing Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane in the first over. Bumrah bowled a ripper of a yorker to disturb the timber to get Shikhar Dhawan out.

While Shreyas Iyer looked to counterattack, Bumrah had Iyer caught in the fourth over. Krunal Pandya gave MI their fifth wicket after Rishabh Pant was holed out in the deep in the eighth over.

Marcus Stoinis put up a brave fight with the bat as he and Axar Patel added 71 runs together. However, Bumrah’s return into the attack, ended Stoinis’ 45-ball 65-run knock in the 16th over. In the same over, Bumrah picked his fourth wicket as Daniel Sams was caught behind the wicket. DC eventually scored 143/8.

Earlier, DC, who elected to bowl, remained unchanged while MI made three changes to their playing XI, bringing in Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya and Trent Boult.

Quinton de Kock made a cracking start as the left-hander creamed three fours in the first over bowled by Daniel Sams. However, DC struck in the second over after R. Ashwin scalped the big wicket of Rohit Sharma, trapping the MI skipper before the wickets.

READ ALSO  Mumbai Indians look to continue winning run against Kings XI Punjab

de Kock and Yadav though continued to attack as the pair took on the DC bowlers to power MI to 63/1 in the powerplay, with the left-hander moving to 38 and Surya scoring 22 off 14 balls.

However, Ashwin broke the de Kock-Yadav stand in the eighth over after de Kock was holed out in the deep.

Yadav continued his merry ways and brought up yet another stylish fifty of the season as MI moved past hundred in the 12th over. However, DC struck back, picking two wickets in quick succession dismissing Yadav for 51 and getting Kieron Pollard out for zero.

Ishan Kishan and Krunal Pandya though denied DC any immediate success. The duo put up a 39-run stand in 23 balls. While Krunal was watchful in his approach, Kishan started to open his shoulders and hit a four and a six off Kagiso Rabada in the 15th over. The pair hit  two fours and a six in the next over before Krunal got out in the 17th over.

MI were 145/5 with three overs to go and then, Hardik and Kishan went berserk. The two hit a six each in the 18th over. Hardik then creamed Rabada for two sixes in the penultimate over while Ishan hit a four as MI scored 18 from                          the over.

The two then went after Nortje in the final over. While the right-arm pacer conceded just a run from the first two balls, Hardik slammed two sixes on the next two deliveries before Kishan sent one over the ropes on the final ball of the innings to take MI to 200.

READ ALSO  Jasprit shines as Mumbai beat Punjab

While Kishan remained unbeaten 55 off 30 balls, Hardik slammed 37* from 14 balls.

Brief Scores

Mumbai Indians 200/5 (Ishan Kishan 55*, Suryakumar Yadav 51; R. Ashwin 3/29) beat Delhi Capitals 143/8 (Marcus Stoinis 65,  Axar Patel 42; Jasprit Bumrah 4/14) by 57 runs.



Today’s Match – (Nov. 6)


SRH Vs RCB – Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, 7.30 pm (IST)

Sunday’s Match (Nov. 8)

Qualifier-2DC Vs TBA-  Sheikh Zayed Stadium,  Abu Dhabi, 7.30 pm (IST)

Yesterday’s Result Qualifier-1

MI 200/5 (20 Overs) beat DC 143/8 (20 Overs)

Catch live actions on Star Sports and  Star Gold


Tomorrow’s Match – (NOV. 7)

Trailblazers Vs Supernovas- Sharjah Cricket Stadium,  Sharjah, 7.30 pm (IST)

Yesterday’s Result

Trailblazers 49/1 beat Velocity 47/10


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]