Bill on seven new Varsities passed

Bill on seven new Varsities passed

September 22, 2022

Bengaluru: The Karnataka Assembly on Wednesday passed a Bill to create seven new Universities in the State.

The Karnataka State Universities (Amendment) Bill proposes to create new Universities in Bidar, Haveri, Kodagu, Chamarajanagar, Hassan, Koppal and Bagalkot. Also, the existing Mandya Unitary University’s jurisdiction will be extended to cover the entire Mandya district.

Piloting the Bill, Higher Education Minister Dr. C.N. Ashwathnarayan said the creation of new Universities is in line with the NEP-2020 that envisages a University in every district.

The Government will earmark Rs. 2 crore for each University, he added.

However, MLAs, cutting across party lines, asked the Government how the new Universities will fare when the existing Universities are fraught with problems and short of funds.

Acknowledging quality concerns expressed by the House members, Dr. Ashwathnarayan said the Government has grafted the new bill to usher in reforms in terms of accountability and transparency. Underlining the need for moving away from specialised Universities, he said the existing infrastructure will be used for the new Varsities.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]