India wins Border Gavaskar Trophy

India wins Border Gavaskar Trophy

March 28, 2017

India sealed a memorable 2-1 series win against Australia, with an eight-wicket win in the fourth and final Test played in Dharamasala. K.L. Rahul scored his seventh fifty as India reached the target in less than a session. Captain Ajinkya Rahane scored a quick-fire 38 off 27 balls.

As a result, India regained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and ending the season as the top-ranked Test team in the world with 12 wins, four draws and a solitary defeat.

Rahul gave India their victory and brought up his sixth fifty of the series with a flick for three off Steve O’Keefe and let out a huge roar, while Rahane calmly went up to the Australians to shake hands.

For Australia, they will go back with their head held high. They were expected to have their socks knocked off, but competed in every single game and took the contest until the end.

Ravindra Jadeja, who is in great form, was declared both Man of the Match and Man of the Series for his stellar performance throughout the season.

Brief scores: Australia 300 & 137 (Glenn Maxwell 45; Ravindra Jadeja 3-24, Umesh Yadav 3-29, R. Ashwin 3-29) lost to India 332 & 106/2 (K.L. Rahul 51 not out) by eight wickets.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]