JD(S) bags APMC President post in Hunsur

JD(S) bags APMC President post in Hunsur

March 3, 2017

Making inroads into Congress strongholds in the district, the JD(S) has bagged the Hunsur APMC President’s post in the election held yesterday. JD(S) candidate Nagamangala Kumar won the post by defeating Hanagudu Shivanna of the Congress by one vote.

Nagamangala Kumar bagged 9 votes as against 8 by his Congress rival Hanagudu Shivanna.

The Hunsur APMC has 17 members. However, the Congress bagged the Vice-President’s post, with its candidate Lalitha Chowda Nayaka defeating Basavarajappa of the JD(S) by one vote.

The Congress had 9 members including 3 nominated members while JD(S) had 8 members in the 17-member APMC.

JD(S) MLA G.T. Devegowda played a key role in the party candidate winning the President’s post, by coming up with a game plan to defeat the Congress candidate.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]