KPL 2018: Bijapur Bulls pip Mysuru Warriors by 2 runs

KPL 2018: Bijapur Bulls pip Mysuru Warriors by 2 runs

September 2, 2018

In a closely contested match, Bijapur Bulls managed to pip Mysuru Warriors by two runs in the ongoing Karnataka Premier League (KPL)-2018 encounter at SDNR Wadiyar Stadium in city yesterday.

Mysuru Warriors won the toss and put the opposition into bat on a hot sunny noon. Opener Bharath Chipli, the skipper of Bijapur Bulls, who was dropped in the second over at point by Shoaib Manager, went on to score 63. Chipli 63 (53b,6×4,3×6) led the attack from the front along with Mir Kaunian Abbas (42) after the Bulls had lost two wickets  for 22 runs at the end of 3 overs.

The Warriors kept picking wickets at regular intervals and kept a constant check on the run rate of Bijapur Bulls. But a late assault in the end hurt the Warriors. Suneel Raju (28) and KL Shrijith (17) shared a partnership of 44 runs from 23 balls for the sixth wicket. The Bijapur Bulls posted a score of 167 for 6 in five overs.

In reply, the Mysuru Warriors raced to 43 runs in 4.3 overs. Openers Rajoo Bhatkal (29) and Arjun Hoysala (21) failed to convert their start into a big score. The introduction of K.C. Cariappa (2 for 23) saw the dismissal of Arjun Hoysala. Soon, Amit Verma was also dismissed by Zahoor Farooqui, who was caught brilliantly by Bharath. With the fall of wickets, the pressure kept increasing as the run rate sky rocketed. Bijapur Bulls were inconsistent in their line of bowling, and gave away 18 wides in their innings. With 48 runs needed of the last 5 overs, Skipper J. Suchith’s (34 n.o.) effort went in vain as the Warriors fell short. With seven required of the last ball, Suchith needed to hit a six to tie the scores. He managed to a boundary through extra cover and the Warriors lost the game by two runs. The Mysuru Warriors finished at 165 for 5 in 20 overs.

READ ALSO  Mysuru Warriors announces squad for KPL 2018

Both Mysuru Warriors and Bijapur Bulls have six points in their name with a game in hand. Mysuru Warriors are placed at the third spot ahead of Bijapur Bulls who are placed fourth due to a better net run rate. Mysuru Warriors will play Bengaluru Blasters today at 6.30 pm and Bijapur Bulls will play Shivamogga Lions at 2 pm today.


Bijapur Bulls: 167 for 6 in 20 Overs (Bharath Chipli 63, Kaunian Abbas 42, Suneel Raju 28, Prateek Jain 2 for 15, N.P. Bhareth 2 for 27) beat Mysuru Warriors: J. Suchith 34 n.o., Rajoo Bhatkal 29, K.V. Siddarth 28, K.C. Cariappa 2 for 23); Man of the Match: Bharath Chipli.

Tigers roar past Panthers

Hubli Tigers stormed into the semi finals of the KPL as the defeated Belagavi Panthers by 44 runs in the KPL encounter at SDNR Wadiyar Stadium in city yesterday. Having put into bat by Stuart Binny, Hubli Tigers found themselves staring themselves at another top order collapse as they were reduced to 33 for 3 inside 4 overs.

Opener Abhishek Reddy (74) and Praveen Dubey (40) held their nerve and changed fortunes for the Tigers. They shared a fourth wicket partnership of 100 runs off 69 balls. Abhishek Reddy 74 (37b,8×4,3×6) played a stroke filled knock and sent a sense of concern in the opposition’s camp. Praveen Duby played a gritty knock of 40 from 44 balls. Captain Vinay Kumar (21 n.o.) and M.B. Darshan (18) gave the finishing touch as Hubli Tigers posted a score of 182 for 5 in their 20 overs.

In reply, Belagavi Panthers got off to a horrific start as they were reduced to 46 for 5 within the Powerplay quota of 6 overs.

READ ALSO  Namma Shivamogga overpower Bijapur Bulls

Vinay Kumar (4 for 19) was clinical with his line and length and caused trouble to the batsmen of Belagavi Panthers.He bagged a wicket in each of his overs. The Panthers, who had to win this match to stay in the hunt for making it to the semi finals collapsed and never looked like chasing down the target. During the match, Vinay Kumar also became the first player to score an aggregate of 1000 runs and also go past the 50-wicket mark in KPL.

With this result, Hubli Tigers secure their position in top two in the points table. Also the loss of the defending champions Belagavi Panthers, meant that irrespective of the results of today’s matches, Mysuru Warriors and Bijapur Bulls will be in the semi-finals along with Hubli Tigers  and Bengaluru Blasters. Today’s results will only alter their positions in the top four.


Hubli Tigers: 182 for 5 in 20 overs (Abhishek Reddy 74, Praveen Dubey 40, Vinay Kumar 21 n.o., Niyaz Nizar 2 for 40) beat Belagavi Panthers: 138 for 10 in 19 overs (Pranav Bhatia 32, Nidhish 23, Vinay Kumar 4 for 19, Anil  for 15, Mahesh Patel 2 for 25); Man of the Match:  Abhishek Reddy.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]