Seniors to wrestle it out for honours tomorrow

Seniors to wrestle it out for honours tomorrow

February 11, 2017

A wrestling competition for retired and senior wrestlers will take place at D. Devaraj Urs Multipurpose Stadium in Dasara Exhibition Grounds at 3 pm tomorrow (Feb.12).

Announcing this at a press meet at Patrakartara Bhavan here yesterday, Pailwan Kempegowda said the wrestling contest will see veterans of the sport retrace their steps back to the ring.

Pointing that this is the first of its kind wrestling event in the country, he said the competition will see noted wrestlers of yore indulging in hand to hard combat. The competition will see 82 senior wrestlers, aged between 40 and 70 years. The idea to host such an event was suggested by wrestlers belonging to various ‘Garadi Manes’ (traditional wrestling houses) across the city, he said.

Pailwan Kempegowda further said a few years ago, wrestlers in Punjab had conducted a wrestling competition for seniors. However the upper age limit for participants was capped at 60, he said and added that the biggest challenge for tomorrow’s competition, was to identify and subsequently send out invitations to senior and retired wrestlers from all States.

Continuing, he said former IGP D.N. Munikrishna will inaugurate the contest at 3pm. MLA M.K. Somashekar will preside. RSS leader Venkataram will light the Kreeda Jyothi. District Minister Dr. H.C. Mahadevappa will give away cash prizes and certificates to the winners.

MPs Pratap Simha and C.S. Puttaraju, Former Minister S.A. Ramdas, Minister Tanveer Sait, Mayor M.J. Ravikumar, former University of Mysore VC Prof. K.S. Rangappa, MLAs Vasu and G.T. Devegowda others will be present, he said.

Prior to the start of the competition, the wrestlers will be taken out in procession from Kote Anjaneya Swamy temple at the north gate of the Mysore Palace to the venue at 1pm. Dr. Yatindra Siddharamaiah will flag off the procession, he said.

READ ALSO  Eiffel Tower at Mysuru!

MUDA Chairman D. Dhruvakumar and as many as 24 wrestlers including international champion R.R. Matapathi from Belagavi will be felicitated on the occasion, he added.

Pailwans Shivu Hosahalli, Chikkamurthy, L.S. Kumar, Surendra Kumar and others were present at the press meet.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]