Stuart Binny stars in Panther’s win

Stuart Binny stars in Panther’s win

September 10, 2017

Mysuru: Belagavi Panthers scored their second win in three matches, when they registered a well-earned 30-run win over Mysuru Warriors, at SDNR Wadiyar   Grounds yesterday.

Needing 181-runs to win, local team Mysuru Warriors playing their third match, got off to a decent start with openers Arjun Hoysala (15, 13b, 2×4) and K.C. Avinash adding 27-runs in 3.1 overs. Later the innings was further steadied by Avinash ( 47, 31b, 2×4,1×6) and Shreyas Gopal (25, 24b, 2×4).

Needing 89-runs in 54-balls, Mysuru Warriors batters needed to accelerate and going for quick runs lost Shreyas Gopal (25, 24b, 2×4) in the mid of the 12th over. Skipper Suneel Raju (15,10b, 1×4, 1×6) departed and Mysuru Warriors needed 65 off 36 balls. Mysuru   Warriors ended up scoring 150 for eight in 20 overs.

Earlier, put into bat, Belagavi Panthers posted a total of 180 for five in 20 overs. Manish Pandey chipped in with breezy 25 (17b, 3×4, 1×6) and retrieved the situation to some extent. Later Stuart Binny continuing his good form with the willow, remained unbeaten on 52 (28b, 8×4, 1×6) and along with Kishore Kamat (24, 15b, 1×4, 2×6) added 59-runs in 27 balls to bring some respectability to the score.

Nidish, Mithun star in Bulls win

Earlier, in the first match of the day, an unfinished 55-runs partnership off just 17-balls between M. Nidish (33 n.o., 16b, 3×4, 2×6) and Abhimanyu Mithun (30 n.o., 10b, 1×4, 4×6), enabled Bijapur Bulls to register a thrilling four-wicket win (174 for six in 19.3 overs) over defending champion Bellary Tuskers.

Needing 42-runs in three overs, Bijapur Bulls faced a difficult task at hand. Nidish used the long handle well and scored two sixes and a single, off the first three balls, while A. Mithun off the next three balls scored a boundary  off left-arm medium-pacer Prateek Jain.

READ ALSO  Walkathon marks World Physiotherapy Day in city

In all, 25 runs was need in the last two overs and the match took an interesting turn. Nidish scored two boundaries off successive balls off medium-pacer Zahoor Farooqi and this over yielded a total of 13 runs.

Bijapur Bulls needed 12-runs off six balls, and Abhimanyu Mithun scored two massive sixes off skipper and leg-spinner Amit Verma and pulled off a thrilling win.

Earlier, skipper Bharat Chipli played a breezy innings of 63 (35b, 6×4, 4×6) and along with M.G.Naveen (17) added 52-runs for the second wicket.

Earlier, the defending champs, Bellary Tuskers put into bat started badly losing their openers K.B. Pawan (5) and Rohan Kadam (10) early. Kunal Kapoor (2) departed next and Bellary were reduced to 47 for three.

Amit Verma (46, 33b, 5×4, 2×6) along with C.M. Gautham and added 44-runs for the fourth wicket. Abhinav Manohar (35, 18b, 1×4, 4×6 ) and C.M. Gautham (50 n.o., 35b, 1×4, 1×6) rallied well to propel their teams’ score to 172 for six  in 20 overs.

Scores: Bellary Tuskers: 172 for six in 20 overs lost to Bijapur Bulls: 174 in 19.3 overs.

Belagavi Panthers: 180 for five in 20 overs bt Mysuru Warriors: 150 for eight in 20 overs.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]