Virat to receive prestigious Polly Umrigar Award

Virat to receive prestigious Polly Umrigar Award

March 2, 2017

Team India Captain Virat Kohli will be presented with the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award, given to the International Cricketer of the Year at the BCCI Annual Awards to be held in Bengaluru Mar. 8.

Kohli, who first received the award in 2011-12 and in 2014-15, will become the first Indian cricketer to be bestowed with the honour on three occasions.

R. Ashwin will also become the first Indian cricketer to receive the Dilip Sardesai Award twice. The all-rounder first won the award instituted to honour the best performance in the bilateral Test series between India and West Indies after being named the Man of the Series in the three-match Test series in 2011. In the four-match Test series last year, Ashwin again picked up the Man of the Series award for his outstanding show. In four Tests, he scored two centuries and picked 17 wickets including two five-wicket hauls.

The BCCI Annual Awards committee consisting of N. Ram, Ramachandra Guha and Diana Edulji had nominated Rajinder Goel and Padmakar Shivalkar for the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.

Mumbai Cricket Association has been chosen as the State Association of the Season (2015-16) for winning the Ranji Trophy, the CK Nayudu Trophy and also the Women’s Plate League Group. They were runner-up in the Cooch Behar Trophy, the Vijay Merchant Trophy and the Women’s One-Day Elite Group.

List of BCCI annual award winners

Col. CK. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award                 :           Rajinder Goel, Padmakar Shivalkar

BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award for Women                :           Shantha Rangaswamy

READ ALSO  Virat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

BCCI Special Award                                                               :           V.V. Kumar, Late Ramakant Desai

Polly Umrigar Award                                                              :           Virat Kohli

Dilip Sardesai Award (For India’s best cricketer

in the West Indies series 2016)                                            :           R. Ashwin

Lala Amarnath Award for the Best All-rounder

in the Ranji Trophy 2015-16                                                 :           Jalaj Saxena of Madhya Pradesh

Lala Amarnath Award for Best All-rounder in

Domestic Limited-overs Competitions, 2015-16               :           Axar Patel of Gujarat

Madavrao Scindin Award (Highest scorer in

the Ranji Trophy 2015-16)                                                    :           Shreyas Iyer of Mumbai

Madavrao Scindin Award (Highest wicket-taker

in the Ranji Trophy 2015-16)                                                :           Shahbaz Nadeem of Jharkhand

M.A. Chidambaram Trophy (Highest scorer in

(U-23) Col. CK. Nayudu Trophy 2015-16                           :           Jay. G. Bista of Mumbai

M.A. Chidambaram Trophy (Highest wicket-

taker in U-23 Col. CK. Nayudu Trophy 2015-16               :           Satyajeet Bachhav of Maharashtra

NKP Salve Award (Highest scorer in (U-19)

Cooch Behar Trophy in 2015-16)                                        :           Arman Jaffer of Mumbai

NKP Salve Award (Highest wicket-taker in

(U-19) Cooch Behar Trophy in 2015-16)                           :           Ninad Rathva of Baroda

Raj Singh Dungarpur Award (Highest scorer in

(U-16) Vijay Merchant Trophy in 2015-16)                        :           Abhishek Sharma of Punjab

Raj Singh Dungarpur Award (Highest wicket-

taker in U-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy in 2015-16)             :           Abhishek Sharma of Punjab

Jagmohan Dalmiyra Award (Best Woman

Cricketer (Sr.) of 2015-16)                                                     :           Mithali Raj of Railways

Jagmohan Dalmiyra Award (Best Woman

cricketer (Jr.) of 2015-16)                                                      :           Deepti Sharma of Uttar Pradesh

Best Umpire in Domestic cricket in 2015-16                      :           Nitin Menon

READ ALSO  India retains Asia Cup: Beat Bangladesh in a last ball thriller

Best performance in BCCI Domestic

tournaments of 2015-16                                                        :           Mumbai Cricket Association


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]