Chamarajanagar Municipal Councillor jailed

Chamarajanagar Municipal Councillor jailed

March 27, 2022

Chamarajanagar: Principal Civil Judge and JMFC  Court of Chamarajanagar has awarded a simple imprisonment of one year and imposed a fine of Rs. 5,000 to a Municipal Councillor for disrupting a Government function and for threatening to murder the Municipal Commissioner. 

It was alleged that Congress Municipal  Councillor from Ward No.15 R.P. Nanjundaswamy in November 2010, disrupted a Government function held to commence the construction work of Solid Waste Management Unit at Yadabetta Government land and also used abusive language against the then Municipal Commissioner S. Prakash besides threatening to murder him. A complaint was filed in the Chamarajanagar Rural Police Station in this connection. An investigation was carried out and  charge-sheet was submitted by the Police. After hearing the case, Judge Mohammad Roshan Shah pronounced the judgement. 

Assistant Public Prosecutor A.C. Mahesh represented the  Government and Chamarajanagar Rural Police Station’s then SI B.G. Kumar investigated the case and submitted the charge-sheet.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]