City celebrates Jayachamaraja Wadiyar’s 98th birth anniversary

City celebrates Jayachamaraja Wadiyar’s 98th birth anniversary

July 18, 2017

Mysuru: The contributions of the last ruler of Mysore Sri Jayachamaraja  Wadiyar was recalled in glowing terms at several functions organised as part of his 98th birth anniversary celebrations, here this morning.

Mayor M.J. Ravikumar inaugurated the celebrations at Sri Chamarajendra Ursu Boarding School, Drama Hall organised by Sri Jayachamaraja Ursu Education Trust in the presence of Dr. Pramoda Devi Wadiyar, Patron of the Trust, here this morning.

The Mayor advised the children to learn about the heritage structures in the City to understand the history. He also asked them to plant more trees so that the environment can be protected.

Earlier, the Mayor and Pramoda Devi planted saplings in the premises. Later, she handed over saplings of exotic flowering trees of yesteryears like Jacaranda, Tabebuia Chrysantha, Cassia Nadosa, Cassia Fistula, Tabebuia Avellanede , Cassia White, Casia Javanica and Colvillea Recemosa to the Mysuru City Corporation to enable them to landscape and make the city more colourful.

Former Mayor and Corporator H.N. Sreekantaiah recalled the contributions of Wadiyar dynasty.

Vice President of the Trust Bharathi Sridhar Raje Urs highlighted about the saplings that was distributed to the Corporation.

MCC Commissioner G. Jagadeesha, Trust member M.L. Varchuswee S.S. Raje Urs, Secretary Mahesh Urs and others were present.

The Urasu Chintakara Chavadi and Karnataka Sena Pade had jointly organised the celebrations at Hardinge Circle, where the statue of Jayachamaraja Wadiyar has been installed recently. Mayor M.J. Ravi Kumar offered floral tributes and said that the contribution of Jayachamaraja Wadiyar to the state was unforgettable.

Former Minister S. Suresh Kumar, BJP City President Dr. B. H. Manjunath, hotelier M. Rajendra and others after offering floral tributes to the statue of Jayachamaraja Wadiyar in city this morning.

Former Minister and MLA S. Suresh Kumar said that Jayachamaraja Wadiyar was the last ruler of Mysuru and he was also the Governor of the State. The Wadiyars have a rich 600 year history and the contribution of the royal family to the State is immeasurable.

He said that many of the kings from Wadiyar dynasty were model rulers and there is a lesson in it for the politicians to learn. Their guidance is very essential in today’s world. Suresh Kumar recalled the time he had seen Wadiyar in the late 1960s atop the Ambari elephant during the Dasara procession.

BJP City President Dr B. H. Manjunath, Kannada Sena Pade District President Tejas Lokesh Gowda, Social Worker K. Raghuram Vajpayee, Dr. M.G.R Urs and others were present.

Karnataka State Ursu Mahasabha celebrated the anniversary at the Gombe Thotti inside the Mysore Palace premises by offering puja to Chamundeshwari Utsava Moorthy and offering floral tributes to the photo of Jayachamaraja Wadiyar. Mahasabha General Secretary T.K. Subramanya Raje Urs, Manteswamy Mutt Dharmadhakari B.L. Prabhu Devaraj Urs, Mahasabha President Nandeesh Urs,Bahajun Samaj Party State convenor S. Siddaraju, State Raitha Sangha leader Ashwanath Urs,  Palace Board Deputy Director T. S. Subramanaya and others were present.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]