Five nominated to Legislative Council

Five nominated to Legislative Council

July 23, 2020

Bengaluru: Governor Vajubhai R. Vala on Wednesday nominated five persons including former Ministers A.H. Vishwanath and C.P. Yogeshwar and three others to the State Legislative Council. The three others nominated are BJP Mahila Morcha President Bharathi Shetty, Academician from Belagavi Sabanna Talwar and Tribal activist Shantaram Budna Siddi.

The nomination comes as a relief to Vishwanath who had defected from the Congress to the JD(S) ahead of the 2018 Assembly polls and later from the JD(S) to the BJP in July last year after quitting as sitting MLA from Hunsur. He had played a key role in the collapse of the previous coalition Government. 

Yogeshwar, who was a Minister in the BJP Cabinet over seven years ago, had lost the polls from Channapatna Constituency in the 2018 Assembly polls to H.D. Kumaraswamy of JD(S).Yogeshwar too had reportedly played a key role in engineering defections from Kumaraswamy led JD(S)-Congress coalition Government last year, which had resulted in BJP returning to power again in the State. Bharathi Shetty is currently heading the State Women’s Wing of BJP.

Sabanna Talwar is Chairman of the Economics Department at Rani Chennamma University in Belagavi, while Shantaram Siddi is an activist from Siddi Tribe, which traces its origins to Africa. Siddi has been working for tribal cause for over three decades through Vanavasi Kalyana Ashrama, an NGO. Both of them are from ST Community and their nomination, unlike the first three, were reportedly recommended by party High Command and is in line with its recent initiative to reward low-profile party workers.

READ ALSO  False propaganda of transferring money online to voters: BJP candidate M.V. Ravishankar files complaint with Cyber Police

Only last month, the BJP Central leadership had nominated party workers Ashok Gasti and Eranna Kadadi to the Rajya Sabha (RS).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]