Government should observe Ramaswamy Memorial Day: Former MLA Nagendra

Government should observe Ramaswamy Memorial Day: Former MLA Nagendra

September 24, 2023

Mysore/Mysuru: Former MLA L. Nagendra said that at a time when the State is celebrating the 50th anniversary of renaming of the State as Karnataka (previously Mysore State), the Government should observe Martyrs Day in memory of Ramaswamy and other freedom fighters of the State who laid down their lives.

He was speaking at the 76th death anniversary of freedom fighter Ramaswamy at a programme organised under the aegis of Yuva Bharat Sanghatane at Ramaswamy Circle on JLB road here on recently.

Nagendra  said that Ramaswamy of Banavara, a teenaged student,  was killed at this spot on Sept.13,1947 when the then Deputy Commissioner of Mysuru Nagaraj Rao fired when Ramaswamy attempted to hoist the National flag during the Mysore Chalo movement, a post-independence movement that began with people from several parts of the State descending on the city demanding installation of a democratic Government, precisely known as ‘Javabdari Sarkara’ (Responsible Government).

He further said that two other students — Toranayaka and Ranga — too were killed in the incident. The heroics of the martyred students continues to be an inspiration for the younger generation of today in respect of patriotism and nationalism, he added.

Mayor Shivakumar said that the Ramaswamy Circle will be developed with private participation. He recalled  the heroics of Ramaswamy and two  martyred fellow students during the                      Mysore Chalo movement that won independence to the erstwhile Princely Mysore State as the then Mysore Maharaja Jayachamaraja Wadiyar agreed to the demand for installation of a responsible Government.

He (Mayor) further said that the MCC would install plaques containing all information on Ramaswamy at the Circle.

 Girish Director of Jeevadhara Blood Bank, who also spoke, said that “Jeevadhara was ready for sponsoring the MCC’s plans for the development of the Circle.”

READ ALSO  Mysuru to be oxygen-reliant

BJP leader and former IPS Officer N. Bhaskar Rao, District Brahmin Association President D.T. Prakash, Corporator Pramila Bharath, former Corporators M.D. Parthasarathy and Jagadish, writer Pushpa Iyengar, Yuva Bharat Sanghatane leader Ajay Shastri, KMPK Trust President Vikram Iyengar, Charan, K.R.S.Vijaykumar, Vighneshwar Bhat, Venkatram, Prahlad Rao, Sucheendra, Sharath Bhandari, Byrathi Lingaraju, Suraj, Sadashiva and Chandru were present.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]