JD(S) will not be accountable if coalition candidate loses: GTD

JD(S) will not be accountable if coalition candidate loses: GTD

April 5, 2019

Mysuru:  After the JD(S) party workers meeting at a private hotel in city this morning, Mysuru District Minister G.T. Devegowda (GTD) reportedly said that JD(S) leaders will not be held responsible if coalition candidate C.H. Vijayashankar loses the election. He, however, denied the statement later and said that his words have been misconstrued.

When a reporter asked GTD if his party, the JD(S), would take the blame if Vijayashankar is defeated, GTD reportedly quipped, “Neither me nor Tourism Minister S.R. Mahesh will be responsible if such a thing happens. Did Siddharamaiah claim responsibility when A.H. Vishwanath (present JD(S) President) lost the MP election in 2014,” he asked.

However, later clarifying his stand, GTD said that his remarks were misinterpreted. “I did not say this to spite anyone. I only said that all depends on the voters who will choose their leader. The question of owning responsibility for electoral loss does not arise here. All this would not have arisen if we had fought the election separately,” he said.

Recent News

Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]