Legends Premier League – T10 Cricket Tournament: Mysore Maharajas emerge champions

Legends Premier League – T10 Cricket Tournament: Mysore Maharajas emerge champions

May 22, 2023

Mysore Maharajas registered nine wicket win over Mysore Lancers to win the inaugural Legends Premier League – T10 Cricket Tournament held at SDNR Wadiyar Ground here yesterday.

Due to heavy rains, instead of ten overs a side the match was reduced to five overs a side.

After electing to bat, Mysore Lancers managed to score 32 runs in five overs before losing their five wickets.

Middle order batsman A.C. Chetan Kumar topscored with 21 runs in just 15 balls which included two boundaries and a six while for Mysore Maharajas, C. Sunil, C. Raghavendra, C.K. Chandrashekar and M.K. Saptha Girish took a wicket each.

In reply, Mysore Maharajas scored the required runs in just 2.1 overs losing just one wicket.

The runners — Mysore Lancers team.

Opening batsman Chandrashekar topscored with 16 runs in just nine balls which included two sixes and a four. For Mysore Lancers, Sanjay Raja took  one wicket.

Earlier in the semifinals, Mysore Lancers defeated Mysore Gladiators by six wickets while Mysore Maharajas beat team Maharajas Bengaluru by  seven wickets. 

A.V. Sandeep of Mysore Lancers was awarded ‘Best Batsman’ award while Sunil Chinnaswamy of Mysore Maharajas got ‘Best Bowler’ award and A.C. Chetan Kumar of Mysore Lancers got ‘Best Fielder’ award. P. Krishnaiah, Director of Department of Physical Education, University of Mysore (UoM), gave away the awards.

The Department of Physical Education (DPE), University of Mysore, in association with Navodaya Cricket Club and Jai Hind Cricket Club, had organised the Tournament.

Around 100 Senior Cricketers who had represented Ranji Trophy, Karnataka State, Mysuru Division and University Cricket teams, who had come from across the State took part in the two-day Tournament.

SAPIENT Education Trust, IFIMED Pharmaceuticals, Idea Infinity supported the conduct of the tournament.


Winners – Mysore Maharajas.

Runners – Mysore Lancers.

Best Batsman – A.V. Sandeep (Mysore Lancers).

Best Bowler – Sunil Chinnaswamy (Mysore Maharajas).

Best Fielder – A.C. Chetan Kumar (Mysore Lancers).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]