Shobha, Khuba, Narayanaswamy and Rajeev join Modi Cabinet

Shobha, Khuba, Narayanaswamy and Rajeev join Modi Cabinet

July 8, 2021

Bengaluru: Three Lok Sabha (LS) members and a Rajya Sabha (RS) member from Karnataka have made into the Union Council of Ministers in the second major Cabinet reshuffle effected by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Udupi-Chikmagalur MP Shobha Karandlaje, Bidar MP Bhagwanth Khuba, Chitradurga MP A.Narayanaswamy and RS MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar were sworn-in as Union Ministers of State in the Modi Cabinet at a function held at Rashtrapathi Bhavan in New Delhi yesterday.

Bengaluru North MP D.V. Sadananda Gowda, who was the Union Minister for Fertilisers and Chemicals, has been dropped while Dharwad MP & Union Minister for Parliamentary Affairs,  Pralhad Joshi was retained.

Shobha has been made Union Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Khuba as Union Minister of State for New and Renewable Energy and Chemicals and Fertilisers, Naryanaswamy as Union Minister of State for  Social Justice and Empowerment and Rajeev Chandrasekhar as Union Minister of State in Skill Development and Entrepreneurship; and Electronics and Information Technology.

Lady luck favours

The induction of first-time MP Narayanaswamy surprised everyone since his name was not in the list of probables. The 64-year-old MP, a BA graduate, hails from Anekal in Bengaluru Rural and is actively involved in agriculture. He contested on BJP ticket from Chitradurga (reserved) Constituency in 2019 and won by a big margin. Narayanaswamy had been MLA from Anekal Assembly Constituency for four terms. He had worked as Social Welfare Minister in the BJP Government between 2010 and 2013.

Shobha entered the State Legislative Assembly from Yeshvanthpur Assembly Constituency in 2004. She had worked as Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister in the Yediyurappa Government in 2008; as Energy Minister in the Jagadish Shettar Government. Subsequently, she had joined Karnataka Janata Party (KJP) launched by Yediyurappa in 2012 and since returned to BJP fold. In 2014, she contested for LS polls from Udupi-Chikmagalur and won by a margin of 1.81 lakh votes. In 2019, Shobha had retained the seat.

READ ALSO  Countdown begins for PM Modi’s Mysuru visit

Rajeev, a three-time RS member from Karnataka, is into media industry while Khuba has been representing Bidar LS Constituency since 2014. He has done BE in Mechanical Engineering from Siddaganga College.

Women in Modi Cabinet: The PM has inducted seven women in his Cabinet  —  Annapurnadevi, 51 years, Pratima Bhowmik, 52 years, Meenakshi Lekhi, 54 years, Darshana Vikram, 60 years, Shobha Karandlaje, 54 years, Anupriya Singh Patel, 40 years and Bharathi Pawar, 42 years. They are seen with Union Ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Smriti Irani.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]