South Africa ‘A’ Vs India ‘A’ Unofficial Test: India ‘A’ takes control

South Africa ‘A’ Vs India ‘A’ Unofficial Test: India ‘A’ takes control

September 19, 2019

Inspiring bowling performances by India’ A’ bowlers Shahbaz Nadeem (two for 41), Kuldeep Yadav (two for 51) and Md. Siraj (one for 27), enabled India ‘A’ to take control of the proceedings by restricting South Africa ‘A’ to 159 for five in 46 overs in reply to India-A’s score of 417 in 123 overs, at close of play on the second day of the four-day Unofficial Test Match played at the SDNR Wadiyar Platinum Jubilee University Grounds here yesterday.

At stumps, South Africa ‘A’ skipper and opener Aiden Markram (83 n.o., 140b, 12x4s) waged a lone battle and remained unbeaten.

South Africa lost the wicket of opener Pieter Malan (6) early caught at the wicket by Saha off Md. Siraj (20 for one). Skipper Aiden Markram and Theunis De Bruyn (41, 56b, 5×4, 1×6) added 82-runs for the second wicket, before the later fell to Shahbaz Nadeem (102 for two).

South Africa lost three wickets quickly as Zondo (5), Senuram Muthuswamy (12) and Klassen (2) departed quickly and they were reduced to 142 for five. At close skipper Aiden Markram (83 n.o) and Wiaan Mulder (9 n.o.) were at the crease. South Africa are behind by 258 runs.

Earlier, India ‘A’, resuming from their overnight score of 233 for three in 74 overs, were bowled out for 417 in 123 overs. Saha, Dube and Saxena pushed India ‘A’ to a big score. Karun Nair (78), Shivam Dhube (68,84b), skipper Wriddhiman Saha (60, 126b, 8×4), Jalaj Saxena (48 n.o) and Umesh Yadav (24) were the main contributors.

READ ALSO  Chahal goes past Bumrah to become India's leading wicket-taker in T20Is

Wiaasn Mulder (3 for 47) and Dane Piedt (3 for 78) were the chief wicket-takers for South Africa. A keen contest is in the offing on the third day of the match.


India ‘A’: 417 in 123 overs (Shubman Gill 92, Karun Nair 78, Shivam Dhube 68, W. Saha 60, Jalaj Saxena 48 n.o., Umesh Yadav 24, Wiaan Mulder 3 for 47, Dane Piedt 3 for 78) Vs South Africa 159 for 5 in 46 overs (Aiden Markram 83 n.o., Theunis De Bruyn 41, Shabhaz Nadeem 2 for 41, Kuldeep Yadav 2 for 51).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]