Two-phase polls in Karnataka on Apr. 18 and Apr. 23

Two-phase polls in Karnataka on Apr. 18 and Apr. 23

March 11, 2019

Bengaluru: Elections to the 17th Lok Sabha will be held in Karnataka in two phases — on Apr. 18 and 23. While 14 Constituencies in South Karnataka will go to polls on Apr. 18, 14 Constituencies in North Karnataka will go to polls on Apr. 23. Counting of votes would be taken up on May 23.

Constituencies that would go to the polls on Apr. 18 are Bengaluru South, Bengaluru North, Bengaluru Central, Bengaluru Rural, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Udupi-Chikkamagalur, Chitradurga, Tumakuru, Mandya, Mysuru-Kodagu, Chamarajanagar, Chikkaballapura and Kolar.

Those that would go to the polls on Apr. 23 are Chikkodi, Belagavi, Bagalkot, Vijayapura, Kalaburagi, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal, Ballari, Haveri, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Davanagere, and Shivamogga.

5.34 crore voters

As on Mar.10, 2019, a total of 5,03,46,721 crore voters (2,54,94,711 crore male, 2,48,47,292 crore female, and 4,718 others) are eligible to exercise their franchise across the State. The total number of new voters stood at 8.25 lakh.

There are 56,174 polling stations, 600 women polling stations and 28 polling booths for physically challenged.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]