Mysuru-Chennai bullet train: Railways seeks DPR
News, Top Stories

Mysuru-Chennai bullet train: Railways seeks DPR

December 23, 2021

New Delhi: The Ministry of Railways has decided to go ahead with seven new high-speed bullet train projects, including the Mysuru-Bengaluru-Chennai corridor. It has asked for a Detailed Project Report (DPR) on seven bullet train projects from National High Speed Rail Corp. Ltd (NHSRCL).

The high-speed rail corridors are 942-km Delhi to Varanasi (Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Constituency) including Ayodhya via Noida, Agra and Lucknow; 760-km Varanasi to Howrah via Patna; 886-km Delhi to Ahmedabad via Jaipur and Udaipur; 459-km Delhi to Amritsar via Chandigarh, Ludhiana and Jalandhar; 740-km Mumbai to Nagpur via Nasik; 711-km Mumbai to Hyderabad via Pune and 435-km Chennai to Mysuru via Bengaluru.

The Union budget 2022-23 may announce the projects. The Railways received the DPR on the New Delhi-Varanasi corridor from NHSRCL in November.

 Currently, India’s first bullet train project between Mumbai and Ahmedabad is being executed by NHSRCL. According to an NHSRCL spokesperson, a DPR on the Mumbai-Nagpur corridor is in the final stages and it will be submitted to the Railway Ministry in the first quarter of the next fiscal.

Work on preparing DPR for five more bullet train projects including the Mysuru-Bengaluru-Chennai corridor is also progressing well and NHSRCL may be able to complete them within FY23, the spokesperson added.

“The way China has linked almost all its major cities with high-speed bullet trains, the Indian Railways has also decided to provide it to the country’s mega cities in the near future,” senior Railway officials said.

Sushma Gaur, Additional General Manager (Public Relations), NHSRCL, acknowledged that the Ministry of Railways has entrusted the NHSRCL with the tasks of preparing DPRs of seven new high-speed rail corridors projects.

READ ALSO  Train’s coming… Mysuru changing

Once the project is implemented, the bullet train from Mysuru to Chennai via Bengaluru will take just two hours and 25 minutes as against the current seven hours in Shatabdi Express which is the fastest train on this route. On a normal train journey, it takes over 10 hours to travel between the two cities. Shatabdi travels at a maximum speed of 110 kms per hour.

The bullet train will run at a maximum speed of 320 kilometres per hour and the actual distance from Mysuru to Chennai is over 485 kilometres while the bullet train corridor will be 435 kilometres. Going by the train speed, it can cover the 145-km distance from Mysuru to Bengaluru in just 45 minutes.

7 COMMENTS ON THIS POST To “Mysuru-Chennai bullet train: Railways seeks DPR”

  1. Ertiga says:

    Really need to do it in reality and not in just news

  2. Prasanna says:

    Atleast something is moving nearly after 70 years pls wait & elect Sri NAMO for next term things will definitely take place

  3. Gusto says:

    “The way China has linked almost all its major cities with high-speed bullet trains, the Indian Railways has also decided to provide it to the country’s mega cities in the near future,” senior Railway officials said.
    China is a technological superpower, will overtake USA within 2/3 years. Look at their hypersonic missile which they tested recently.
    India is a third world cesspit, corrupt and filthy. Poverty every where, shanty town, and roadside toilets near Ambani tower in Mumbai.
    Anyway, if this train come to fruition, given India’s history of poor workmanship and quality, this train will have frequent accidents, killing hundreds of hapless Indian passengers. May be that way to reduce the population of this country?
    Chandrayaan failed, bullet trains will fail and then what?
    Meanwhile hundreds of millions Indians live below the UN-defined poverty threshold, struggling to pay for food-rice Rs5000 per quintal and edible oil Rs 200 per litre!
    The persons who will welcome Chennai-Mysuru train will be MK Stalin, the CM of Tamil Nadu who with the Kerala CM is eyeing to settle more Tamils with yet more Malayalees in Mysuru.
    Mysuru is doomed. with Kannadigas becoming second class citizens and Kannada not spoken as the first language like In Bengaluru.
    By the way, yet more Bengalutu settlements reaching Maddur perhaps?

  4. Vijaypura says:

    Foolish project, firstly it will add huge tax burden to local bodies as ticket price cannot be based in price and will be subsidised and cost put on state. Secondly, we are just a decade away from hyperloop which are more cost efficient and faster than bullet trains.No new bullet trains are coming up as hyperloop are being awaited.Why India should go for thing that becomes obsolete in a decade.

  5. Shanky says:

    How to stop this bullet train at Mandya ( during annual Cauvery protest season).

  6. Sanjeev Kumar Singh says:

    Most plans get huge publicity, thereafter politics enter and ruin the actual plan. When so ever politics enter then focus on revenue generation and prepare a fresh plan instead of modifying the actual plan.

  7. Sri Vidhya S says:

    I donot know why there is no such projects connecting Chennai and Hyderabad as the distance is around 800 kms. It takes approximately 16 hours in normal trains


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]