Newly-elected Legislators take oath

Newly-elected Legislators take oath

December 22, 2019

Bengaluru: Thirteen of 15 newly-elected members of the Karnataka Assembly took oath as the members of the house here this morning. Karnataka Assembly Speaker Vishveshwar Hegde Kageri administered them the oath.

Two Congress members —  H.P. Manjunath and Rizwan Arshad — who also got elected to the Assembly recently in the by-elections, remained absent while 12 BJP MLAs and one independent took oath. 

The members who were administered oath as MLAs are S.T. Somasekhar, Bhyrathi Basavaraj, K. Gopalaiah, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Mahesh Kumthalli, Shrimant Patil, Anand Singh, Dr. K. Sudhakar, Narayana Gowda, Shivaram Hebbar, B.C. Patil, Arun Kumar (all from BJP) and Sharath Bachchegowda (Ind).

Among the fifteen sitting members, who were disqualified by the Speaker, earlier, as many as 11 were re-elected to the Karnataka Assembly while former ministers MTB Nagaraj and H. Vishwanath tasted defeat in the by-polls held on Dec. 5. 

With the inclusion of 12 members in their fold, the strength of the ruling BJP in the House has risen to 117 and thus they have attained majority in 224-member Karnataka Assembly.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]